Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Dumont, NJ
Students enrolled: 875
 

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dumont High School 5

Posted January 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Dumont High School 4

Posted July 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Dumont High School 3

Posted June 10, 2008
- a student
I was a student among class of 2006. DHS is great for students whom dont speak english, they worked wonders in that department and for social enhancment they place them along with normal regular classes and students which is great. DHS is also well known for their marching band, which i was apart of, and that parents and booster volunteers every year are so supportive and amazing and familiar faces from threw out the years, even after their child graduates they stay involved. Also, they are very good with productions in theatre which ive participated in. Dumont might not be best well grounded and best eduacation as some may say but teachers are friendly and are good one on one with students. I went back to recently visit an old teacher ive had and their security was great.

Dumont High School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2008
- a parent
I have a child in DHS and she is doing very well. I really have no complaints. You get out of school what you put into it.

Dumont High School 3

Posted March 31, 2008
- a parent
My oldest is a senior and I am extremely dissatisfied with the quality of his education at DHS. While he has made many friends there, it seems to me that he will be poorly prepared for a vocational career not to mention post high school education. A also agree that communication between the staff leaves much to be desired.


Dumont High School 0
no rating

Posted March 31, 2008
- a parent
While DHS appears to be well funded and has all of the resources available to the best schools, it's increasingly apparent that the graduates churned out here are in for some real world surprises. I can see that my kid is totally unprepared for what awaits him. Part of the problem is the huge disconnect between the staff and parents. There are no updates between marking periods except for progress reports. Not a single educator at this school has made an effort to contact either parent with regard to our child's abyssmal progress. Having grown up in the outer boroughs of NYC myself, it's evident that diminished expectations and rubber stamped promotions appear to be the norm here. I feel so strongly about the poor standards at DHS that I've enrolled my youngest in a private school in the hope that the results will be better.

Dumont High School 0
no rating

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
As a parent who has a child at dumont high school. I must express total disappointment in dumont high school. Principal & vice principals leadership is non-existed. Teacher quality and communication is poor. Extra curricular activities lack proper coaches and in closing discipline is handled poorly and is usually one sided. Safety is the only strong point of this school....Go private parents

Dumont High School 2

Posted August 29, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Dumont High School 4

Posted February 27, 2006
- a parent
The school is currently under construction to add a new media division. At the moment, there are additonal new science labs and computer classes. The guidance counselors are approachable and supporting. The students seem to be well behaved.

Dumont High School 3

Posted August 15, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dumont High School
101 New Milford Ave, Dumont, NJ  07628
(201) 387-3060
Last modified Dumont High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dumont High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top