Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8 & Ungraded
Public
Dumont, NJ

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Honiss Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2007
- a community member
i have worked in this school for over 20yrs and have had nothing but good experiences with teachers and administrators. it is a cheerful and productive enviroment and the principal is young and very easy to comminicate with. the vice principal is a shining star and enthusiastic under sometimes stressful situations. the students are in a safe enviorment and seem to excel under there leadership.my own daughter graduated from this school district and is now teaching in a neighboing town.

Honiss Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2007
- a student
I just started a few years ago and I already feel like family, they are very nice people. The school feels like home but with my friends everyday . GO HAWKS!


Honiss Elementary School 2

Posted April 05, 2006
- a parent
My child lost at least three years of her educational life at this school. While not all teachers are poor, the best are merely mediocore. Children who are 'successful' at this school are only successful when compared to other students in this or lower staus school districts. Place these children in higher performing (read: better) school districts and they have a difficult time and must do much 'catching up.' The true success stories tend to be anomolies and are the exception, not the rule. I suspect the glowing report of the PTA comes from a member of 'the power clique.' Yes, the PTA offers a couple of extracurricular activities, but they pale in insignificance when compared to other schools within the same district. Parents who have lower standards, or have an easier time accepting mediocrity are happy here, but those of us who know better usually hit the road running.

Honiss Elementary School 4

Posted March 27, 2006
- a student
All subjects are good except for algebra more help is needed in spanish and algebra.

Honiss Elementary School 4

Posted January 14, 2006
- a parent
I am disappointed with the lack of extracurricular activities. I am in the district for 2 years and so far love the teachers and it excells in parental involvement. I just wish the school was updated more and our children could have their own art, and music room.


Honiss Elementary School 1

Posted October 04, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Honiss Elementary School 1

Posted September 04, 2005
- a parent
Lack of leadership from the superintendent on down means there is no cohesive plan to truly improve the school. It's a shame because the parents at school are eager to get involved but are not given an adequate platform from which to do so. Medicore teachers, shoddy curriculum and a fear of trying to truly work WITH parents mean important issues are ignored or shoved under the carpet. A strong parent 'power clique' dictates much of school activity and is encouraged by the principal. The principal seems unable to run the school efficiently and professionally--she is overly friendly with certain parents and inappropriate behavior by teachers is not rectified. While test scores have improved slightly, many parents credit this more to teaching the kids how to take the tests rather than truly educating. Some may be happy here, but many, this family included, are fleeing to better school districts.

Honiss Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2005
- a parent
Honiss is an excellent place for an elementary education. The teachers that my children have encountered have been exceptional and I commend the current principal and faculty for a job well done. In talking to friends in neighboring towns, I feel Honiss has provided just as good an educational experience compared to towns with 'better schools'. Activities like Theater Week and Student Council have been great. The Honiss PTA is the best around and is fortunate to have many committed parents involved. I highly recommend Honiss School for a quality, caring education


Honiss Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2004
- a student
This school deserves a better principal.

Honiss Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Honiss Elementary School
31 Depew St, Dumont, NJ  07628
(201) 387-3020
Last modified Honiss Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Honiss Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top