Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John P. Faber Elementary School 4

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been getting really great teachers every year so I have to assume most of the teachers here are great. There are some issues I find with the PTO and the parking is one of the biggest issues for me here still. Otherwise great school and thanks and welcome to the new principal this year.

John P. Faber Elementary School 3

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
I do like this school. If they feel like your child is struggling in any way, they do go out of their way to assist with extra reading/math classes. It is a small town so everyone knows one another. It is very difficult to get involved in classes. If feel it's only certain members of PTO who get involved with everything.


John P. Faber Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
I love the small town. I love how friendly the new principal is and makes it a point to greet the students. my daughter loves it here. however the parking is awful and the PTO is a popular girl high school click. so good luck getting into volunteer in your childs class. and in a town only a mile long you look around and wonder with the amount of students if half the kids actually live there.

John P. Faber Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2011
- a parent
The teachers are very nice, my daughter has enjoyed her 2 years here so far. The education is amazing! The things she has picked up and she is only 8 wow!

John P. Faber Elementary School 3

Posted August 09, 2010
- a parent
I have one child who has graduated from Faber and one who is still in the system. If you have gifted/advanced children, they will fare well in the earlier grades. But once they reach the higher grades starting around 3rd or 4th grade, your children may become bored and feel unchallenged. I have spoken and e-mailed the teachers requesting more challenging curriculum but it seems the challenges of getting an integrated classroom to pass the NJASKs takes up all their time. The Gifted and Talented program only meets once a week which is hardly enough to challenge the children. This is the sacrifice of going to a super small school system. We are seriously looking to move to a better school district. The teachers are caring and involved but just don't have the time to handle the diverse needs of an integrated classroom.


John P. Faber Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
This school has a great ESL teacher. Super after school programs. Most importantly dedicated teacher at all grade levels.

John P. Faber Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
The school appears to have caring staff, though there is a real lack of real support with special needs children. The staff come across as quite clueless when it comes to developing a plan for the less than average child. I hope that when my other children are old enough to attend they have a more positive experience.

John P. Faber Elementary School 3

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
The school started a pre-school program that teaches reading at 4 years old. The after school program is ran by another town and is expensive.


John P. Faber Elementary School 4

Posted August 11, 2007
- a parent
The district has a strong elementary school. The middle school and high school are improving. There are quite a few extracurricular programs including sports, band, math league, chess, juggling, newspaper, an afterschool program on site. The small size of the district is appealing. Academic achievement is somewhat average because of economic demographics of the town, but on par with other schools with similar demographics. Overall, John P. Faber School is a pretty good school with caring teachers and strong parent involvement.

John P. Faber Elementary School 4

Posted March 02, 2007
- a parent
This school academic wise is great. As I can see my child has been going here for 4 years and the parents are very clicky.

Nearby schools

John P. Faber Elementary School
400 High St, Dunellen, NJ  08812
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (732) 968-5311
Last modified John P. Faber Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top