Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5 & Ungraded
Public
Dunellen, NJ
Students enrolled: 570
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John P. Faber Elementary School 3

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
I do like this school. If they feel like your child is struggling in any way, they do go out of their way to assist with extra reading/math classes. It is a small town so everyone knows one another. It is very difficult to get involved in classes. If feel it's only certain members of PTO who get involved with everything.

John P. Faber Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
I love the small town. I love how friendly the new principal is and makes it a point to greet the students. my daughter loves it here. however the parking is awful and the PTO is a popular girl high school click. so good luck getting into volunteer in your childs class. and in a town only a mile long you look around and wonder with the amount of students if half the kids actually live there.


John P. Faber Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2011
- a parent
The teachers are very nice, my daughter has enjoyed her 2 years here so far. The education is amazing! The things she has picked up and she is only 8 wow!

John P. Faber Elementary School 3

Posted August 09, 2010
- a parent
I have one child who has graduated from Faber and one who is still in the system. If you have gifted/advanced children, they will fare well in the earlier grades. But once they reach the higher grades starting around 3rd or 4th grade, your children may become bored and feel unchallenged. I have spoken and e-mailed the teachers requesting more challenging curriculum but it seems the challenges of getting an integrated classroom to pass the NJASKs takes up all their time. The Gifted and Talented program only meets once a week which is hardly enough to challenge the children. This is the sacrifice of going to a super small school system. We are seriously looking to move to a better school district. The teachers are caring and involved but just don't have the time to handle the diverse needs of an integrated classroom.

John P. Faber Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
This school has a great ESL teacher. Super after school programs. Most importantly dedicated teacher at all grade levels.


John P. Faber Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
The school appears to have caring staff, though there is a real lack of real support with special needs children. The staff come across as quite clueless when it comes to developing a plan for the less than average child. I hope that when my other children are old enough to attend they have a more positive experience.

John P. Faber Elementary School 3

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
The school started a pre-school program that teaches reading at 4 years old. The after school program is ran by another town and is expensive.

John P. Faber Elementary School 4

Posted August 11, 2007
- a parent
The district has a strong elementary school. The middle school and high school are improving. There are quite a few extracurricular programs including sports, band, math league, chess, juggling, newspaper, an afterschool program on site. The small size of the district is appealing. Academic achievement is somewhat average because of economic demographics of the town, but on par with other schools with similar demographics. Overall, John P. Faber School is a pretty good school with caring teachers and strong parent involvement.


John P. Faber Elementary School 4

Posted March 02, 2007
- a parent
This school academic wise is great. As I can see my child has been going here for 4 years and the parents are very clicky.

John P. Faber Elementary School 1

Posted November 29, 2006
- a parent
This is not the school you want your child to attend if they have learning disabilities. They do not have the experience or curriculm set up for children with special needs. The teacher are nice but 'nice' isn't what the children need to succeed. There are no extracurricular activities and discipline is low in the middle school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John P. Faber Elementary School
400 High Street, Dunellen, NJ  08812
(732) 968-5311
Last modified John P. Faber Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John P. Faber Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top