Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hammarskjold Middle School

Public | 6-7 & ungraded | 11 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

This school is pretty good. It has mostly nice teachers and the kids are mostly good as well. There are a few insults flying around sometimes from some rude kids, but I have never seen a real case of bullying as a student. The work is hard enough to make standardized tests seem easy, and the teachers want students to do well. There is also a police officer and crossing guards to keep you safe. Janitors and other teachers definetely assist new kids with finding rooms and opening lockers. Finally, there are many after school clubs like basketball, drama club, and chorus .Overall, I think this is a very good school, as a student, but in the halls students need to be disciplined, there are a few not so nice teachers who don't update websites, and transitioning from elementary school is pretty hard. These are the only cons, though, and this is a school your children, as long as they work hard and are polite, will be proud to go to.


Posted May 24, 2014

The safety of your child at this school is top rated, as security employs retired law enforcement. Academically, teachers are on an inflated image and really are not interested in the best for your child, more interested in their own test ranking than the child as an individual. Teacher websites often not updated or utilized. Teachers mislead test prep thereby setting child for fail. The administration is more concerned about standardized tests than really teaching kids how to apply lessons in real life. Teachers very judgmental often transferring their own beliefs/feelings onto a child which creates an atmosphere of inappropriate conduct from teacher. If you send your child to this school you must be proactive and pragmatic with teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

This school is terrible. Teachers are absent frequently. Rather than teach, teachers show videos or tell the students to google the subject matter. My son used to enjoy school but the lack of motivation by the majority of his teachers has made him disillusioned and unhappy. There is also rampant bullying which is tolerated by the incompetent school administrators. If you care for your child, do not go to this school. Aesthetically, the school is very pleasant but it's a facade for a horrible school system
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2014

This school is really really hard to transition into. They act like it is the best school, but there are too many people, people are cursing and screaming, and it is just a very hard transition. This school has too many kids, should be two middle schools. I used to love school. Now I dread going there every day. I won't mention any names but some teachers are really mean. The only good thing is that most teachers are really nice and funny. This school should really step it up- I feel really bad for the oncoming sixth graders!!


Posted February 5, 2014

My son has struggled with reading since pre-school. I feel that I'm "doing battle" every time I have a meeting with the child study team. While I FINALLY got them to test him in 6th grade and fought for an IEP for him, they don't always follow it (ie, he's supposed to get up to 50% extra time on tests and doesn't get it.) I went to a neurodevelopmental pediatrician, who confirmed my suspicions of dyslexia and said that he had a language learning disorder. I thought that NOW I'd finally get some cooperation. A member of the child study team told me "that's not one of the 12 classifications for special education.." The school has been very good about putting him in a basic skills type of class, but I still don't think he's in the type of learning environment he needs to be in. I am so frustrated. I requested that they test him AGAIN and reassess his needs, and have a meeting next week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

This is a great middle school! My brother just completed it a few years ago and is well above his peers in other districts.


Posted March 20, 2012

I currently attend this school and think it is amazing. I'm in honors classes and although they are harder than regular math and ILA classes, they are challenging but not too demanding. All the teachers are great and helpful, and the lunches are a huge step up from elementary lunches. Although we do not get recess, I do not miss it at all. In fact, I enjoy a schedule without recess because I think education always comes before playing. I always have time to play outside when I get home. Finally, the students are kind which makes it easy to make tons of friends.


Posted October 21, 2011

Oversized, clean, new, hard to transition are some words to describe Hammarskjold. First of all, it's really clean, and that's good. But it was such a big transition and the teachers didn't help at all. I learned how to open my locker on the 3rd week of school, because the teachers never helped me. It's also way too big. A lot of my next-to-next classes are all the way across the building, and it takes about 5 mins when I run. I mean, they have 8 elementary schools and 1 middle? Come on. The good thing about being big is that you can make many new friends. Again, the building is always squeaky clean, the lunch tastes good, and the teachers are nice. Some teachers give way too much homework and some are awfully hard in grading, but I like the clean part. Also, it's a new build so the AC is running well and the bully protection system is really safe. So it's okay. Oh yeah, and I won Vice President!


Posted October 18, 2011

The bully policy simply does not work in this town. They mishandled a bully situation and we are trying to undo the damage with a team of professionals. The professionals have even stated that this is no longer the town to raise kids. They have seen many kids in similar situations. You are just a number and no one cares. Our child is not the only one who has suffered, our entire family has suffered. Our child is no longer in this school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

I am now in 9th grade, but I finished 6th grade in the previous HMS building then started 7th grade in the new building. All I can is that EB has really outdone themselves. The school is massive with an extremely large auditorium (seats 1200). The school offers a lot technology implements such as SmartBoards, Senteos, Scantrons, computers, and projectors. All of this is available to all the teachers. The curriculum is challenging but isn't going to fail a child. The teachers are kind and understanding, and stay afterschool to help the ones that struggle. My most memorable experiences were Student Council (chief-of-staff), ILA, and science. If I didn't have a perfect future planned for me, I would have failed the grade and stayed back.


Posted July 12, 2010

First of all, I'm not so impressed by this school. Yes, it won the Blue Ribbon award but, it was in 1994 95. Sadly, now it is just a way for realtors to pump up a district. It's just a waste of a time if your hild doesn't get into any honor classes. The school curriculum isn't as advanced as New York schools, unless your child is in the honor program. By the way, there are no certain criterias on how your child can be choosen for the honor program, no special tests, and it is totally just somebody's subjectivity. The school is very well technically equipped, but some teachers can't use this advanced technology. Some teachers are very dedicated but others are extrememely weak and careless of the students' work. My child's ILA (English) teacher completely killed my child's interest in the English language.Before my child used to write stories and poems but, was quickly losing desire to write and read. It took a lot of time and strength as parents to help my kid care for English and want to progress in the subject. I hope the next year's teacher will help revive my kid's interest a lot better than we have in English again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Great school and great teachers and learning environment. I would recommend it highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

I go to this school as a 7 th grader and its teachers and curriculum are absolutely wonderful!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2006

I have had two important and somewhat different types of experience there: my son was a straight-A student who began to act out in 6th grade with attendance problems and lower grades; my daughter is very gifted (A+s/As in honors courses) with artistic as well as intellectual talents. Both experiences at Hammarskjold were excellent; both my children were given the kind of attention appropriate to them. With my son, Hammarksjold staff helped me to 'scare him straight' by (among other things) describing how the Truant Officer handles such cases. He went on to a very successful high school career and is now attending Rutgers University. My daughter's talents have been encouraged in every way, both academically with rigorous honors classes and artistically with in- and out-of-school opportunities. Hammarskjold is very crowded (expansion will soon be underway) but very disciplined in every way. I couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2006

I am very disappointed with Hammerskjold. The school is overcrowded, traffic is horrible! They don't teach the students how to organize themselves changing classes for the first time, My kids get more photocopied 'Packets' than books. Principal is very good. Discipline is good, after school activities OK, but no playground or recess. Character education program is failing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2005

School is very overcrowded and you have almost 800 kids per grade. A lot of kids do not know each other. Some teachers are exellent and some are incompetent or just tired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

I found the school offered the children no asistance or support in the transition from elementary school to middle school. Most of the children were in seperate smallers schools and have been droppped into this hugely different enviroment, with no real home room teacher, an unsupporting staff and a cruel administration that is out to punish children instead of resolving issues. I took my child out after one year and put him into Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

The school is a bit overcrowded. There is an unspoken favortism that exists with the upper management of the school and the PTA. Otherwise, good teachers and a healthy environment to learn.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted February 23, 2004

I currently have a child in both 6th and 7th grade. I am so very impressed with the vast majority of teachers and staff. They are wonderful about picking up the phone to talk to parents before issues become problems and to help ensure a partnership with the teachers/staff, the student and the family. I am truly pleased with this school, though would prefer the school system would go back to more basics such as diagraming sentences, emphasis on handwriting and more writing assignments in general
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

684 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

684 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

653 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

653 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students85%
Female87%
Male83%
Black77%
Asian91%
Hispanic69%
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Other ethnicity59%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant85%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black87%
Asian99%
Hispanic73%
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Other ethnicity58%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special education57%
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant91%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former67%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students82%
Female85%
Male80%
Black55%
Asian93%
Hispanic67%
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
General education89%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students81%
Female81%
Male82%
Black52%
Asian95%
Hispanic63%
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Special education34%
General education87%
English language learners36%
Non-migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former45%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 32% 9%
Hispanic 7% 22%
Black 5% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Rues Lane
E Brunswick, NJ 08816
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 613-6892

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Solomon Schechter Day School
East Brunswick, NJ


St. Bartholomew School
East Brunswick, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT