Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lawrence Brook Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 14 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

My daughter completed her 3rd grade year at Lawrence Brook Elementary. She had a very productive year, We just received her scores from the NJ ASK exam and we were pretty pleased. She did very well, but most importantly she had a great year, with her teacher and her learning experience. She has just started her 4th grade and seems very excited to venture this year and all the activities this school is offering. This season just begun and she is very happy with her teacher and friends. We have been in this school district for a short period (2 yrs)and we are pleased and looking forward to a new year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

Lawrence brook has been great school. My child has improved so much. The teacher give equal attention to all children. My child was reading at an advanced level in his class and he was ahead of the other kids but he was always encouraged to do do more. Other parents are very involved in the school programs too and it is a great atmosphere to learn and grow in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

We recently moved to East Brunswick hoping that my son is going to have a similar education that the one he was receiving in a catholic school but so far I am not happy at all, his teacher doesn't give students to much attention, she keep texting during the class instead my son to improve he is getting confused and forgetting the skills he learned in the other school, now I have to do the teacher role at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

My daughter is in 3rd grade. The school is the best in new jersey. The school met all our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

My son is in 3rd grade,I'm very happy with Lawrence Brook school it is one of the best school in NJ i moved here because East Brunswick is a Blue Ribbon I will recommended to any body who move in Lawrence Brook.Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

My son is in the 1st grade here. Prior to entering this school, he was in a Christian school. My expectations were quite high considering all the hype about EB having Blue Ribbon designations. I was completely underwhelmed when my son told me what he was learning (or the lack of learning). Apparently, there were students in his class who do not know their ABCs and cannot read. The more advanced students were told to read on their own while the teacher focused more on the weaker students. At the Back to School night, the teacher said her goal was to have all the students be able to read at 2nd grade level by the end of the school year and also have them write a single complete sentence! The math lessons are a joke too. What a mediocre school!!! Mediocrity seems to be goal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

There are so many clubs at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

Mrs. Raymond is too strict and is not completely fair when dealing with her. It is offensive to me that she doesn't even report to us that she is repremanding our daughter in her office.Not only do I, but do other parents agree with me. However, I would like to comment on their superb teaching methods, in which our daughter has comprehended, and has shown vast improvement over the four years she has gone to Lawrence Brook.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students89%
Female97%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant89%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students95%
Female100%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students78%
Female84%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Special educationn/a
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant78%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students88%
Female86%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant88%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students93%
Female93%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant93%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students81%
Female83%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Special education64%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Special education82%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 33% 9%
Hispanic 10% 22%
Black 5% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Hillary Corburn

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

48 Sullivan Way
E Brunswick, NJ 08816
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 613-6870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Darul Arqam School
South River, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT