Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Orange Community Charter School 1

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
If you want your child able to walk out of school building and be left unaccounted for by their teachers and be IGNORED by administration, this is where you need to send your child. The reviewer who said this school was a disappointment hit the nail on the head. Read that review and accept it as gospel! DON'T EVER SEND YOUR CHILD HERE!!!

East Orange Community Charter School 5

Posted March 14, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school; however, much like any other public/partially public educational institution in any of the country's inner city it does have a few shortcomings. For the most part, the teachers are educated, and motivated to nurture and instill excellence in the students. Interestingly, in recent years there has been somewhat of a schism between the individuals (both parents and staff) who are advocating what they perceive to be beneficial changes/directives (through theory and via exlempary work habits), and the individuals who are resisting these changes. In particular, as it pertains to the latter of the two groups, there still persists an impregnable desire to undermine the efforts of improvement. They seem to have a complete disregard for professionalism, while instead displaying the qualities that have been proven to plague the advancement of excellence and instead, reinforce negative/'street-like' culture.


East Orange Community Charter School 5

Posted March 14, 2010
- a parent
Great school! If you are a parent, make sure (via the soc worker) that your child is in one of the optimal class rooms of his/her grade level. This can make or break your child's eduational experience and academic gain. Out of my 3 children, one was in a mediocre, but not exceptional class, another was in a class in which the teacher seemed to be lazy and annoyed by parental inquiry; finally, the last child has an outstanding set of teachers. He appears to be enthused about learning and his gains in math and reading are phenomenal. The gains have been reflected in both his attitude and his vocabulary. This has driven him toward the desire for professionalism, rather than the street/gang attitudes of the outside environment.!

East Orange Community Charter School
no rating

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
My initial experience with the school demonstrated an atmosphere of caring, nurturing, and school spirit. In the past academically the children were challenged. This is the last year for one of my children at the school, the spirit appears to have dwindled. I was hoping to see improvement instead I have been constantly disappointed. The school administration needs to be more in tune with the parents and the student body in the hopes of developing a better working relationship. I am strongly considering taking my other child out of this school. It saddens me to have to say this since prior to these last two years my experience at this school was a good one.

East Orange Community Charter School 3

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
This school is a good school for the most part. Academically I believe that children are challenged. There needs to be more parent involvement. My initial experience with the school demonstrated an atmosphere of caring, nurturing, and school spirit. As my child near s the end of his journey at the school, the spirit appears to have dwindled. The school administration needs to be more in tune with the parents and the student body in the hopes of developing a better working relationship. Extracurricular activities are limited and there are no sports at the school. My child would tell you that being at the school has been the best time of his life.


East Orange Community Charter School
no rating

Posted March 06, 2008
- a teacher
I love this school very much because it is truly home away from home for the children. The staff are truly there for the children's best interest. Their curriculum truly brings out the best in the children. I have absolutely no regrets working here for the past nine years.

East Orange Community Charter School 1

Posted April 18, 2007
- a parent
Unfortunately this school was a total disappointment. I had to transfer my child out in the middle of March and I have no regrets. If a problem should arise do not expect the school administrators to be of any assistance, even if you are willing to work with them to resolve the situation. I wrote letters and called the principle constantly and was virtually ignored. The staff boast about providing a longer school day than the public schools, however they offer no recess or physical activity on a daily basis(gym once per week). Then they are disturbed if your child is restless and does not sit still all day. Please do not overlook the public schools. I only regret not transferring my child sooner.

East Orange Community Charter School 5

Posted March 23, 2007
- a parent
The school is very safe and a great environment for the students. The teachers are very caring and the way that they are nurtured is unbelievable. I moved from Florida and did not know where my children were going to go and I found this school out of nowhere. Fortunately for the girls, they have had that same environment of nurture that they had in Florida, and especially the curriculum is adequate for their grade level and as far as extracurricular activities, they are covered in every aspect. If not having music is a problem, then I guess we have a problem, besides that they cover every thing that a school should provide to students. Parents are definitely involved in their child's education and they are always welcome to give feedback and what they think should go within the school. Unfortunately, they don't go up to higher grades.


East Orange Community Charter School 4

Posted April 16, 2006
- a student
I am a parent and i have three children at charter. We just had an election of a parent representative to the bd of trustees.Kudos ms abdulkareem! I would like to see the chldren have a music class. They don't have one. We will be having a talent show in may pls give support! Mr dash do ya thing! Parents support your school! We need in-put.

East Orange Community Charter School 4

Posted January 25, 2006
- a teacher
I love this school. The teacher works well in the classrooms and keep the parents up to date with the progress of their child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Orange Community Charter School
99 Washington St, East Orange, NJ  07017
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (973) 996-0400
Last modified East Orange Community Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top