Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
good curriculum, excellent teachers, good rapport with students and excellent after care programs with the local YWCA

Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2011
- a parent
I must give this school a thumbs up all the way. I am a proud parent of an extremely gifted and talented child. My son will be entering the 1st. grade in the fall. The transition from Pre-K to Kindergarten at Cochran was very pleasing. My child right now at the age of 6 can read a full book by himself. The staff is overly caring and sensitive to the childrens needs. I have witnessed several loving comments from other parents regarding this school. I am very pleased. The sad part is some children will not be able to remain at Cochran based on EO new residential policy which I feel is very dissatisfying and unfair. Overall, I love this school.


Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
MY SON HAS BEEN APART OF THE COCHRAN FAMILY SINCE FIRST GRADE AND WILL BE STARTING THE FOURTH GRADE IN THE FALL OF 2011. THE TEACHERS ARE GREAT AS WELL AS THE AFTERSCHOOL STAFF. THERE IS NO BULLYING AND KIDS HAVE A PLACE WHERE THEY CAN FOCUS ON SCHOOL WORK AND BUILD FRIENDSHIPS AS WELL. IT SADDENS ME THAT MY DAUGHTER WHO WILL BE ATTENDING KINDERGARTEN THIS YEAR WILL NOT BE ABLE TO ATTEND DUE TO HAVING TO ATTEND HER RESIDENT ARE SCHOOL. I READ THE REPORTS ON THE SCHOOL SHE WILL BE ATTENDING AND I MUST SAY I WILL BE FIGHTING TO GET HER IN JOHNNIE COCHRAN WITH HER BROTHER BECAUSE HE HAS LEARNED ALOT AND IS CONTINUING TO LEARN EACH DAY. ALTHOUGH THE PREVIOUS PRINCIPLE MOVED ON TO ANOTHER GREAT POSITION YOU CAN'T TELL THAT THE NEW PRINCIPLE HAS MISSED A BEAT BECAUSE ITS STILL ORDER AS USUAL IN THE SCHOOL. THIS IS A GREAT SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2009
- a parent
Exceeeeeelllleeeennnntttt! my daughter used to attend this school and they give a great education program and they have helped her reach very far as she gets older.!


Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
I truly belivev this is the best elementary school in the area. the staff is great the principle seems to really care and the school is very clean I am truly pleased with this school!!!!

Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
The leadership and faculty of this school is top notch. The principal is a former Principal of The Year for the state of NJ. Under her guidance the school has seen remarkable improvement and consistently high scores on statewide tests. The teachers and supporting staff are similarily committed to providing a learniing environment that extracts and expects the maximum performance from each child. I have forsaken private schools to enroll my children here.

Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2007
- a parent
My daughter graduated this year from this school. Its a small school. Great learning environment. The teachers are outstanding. Not to mention the test scores are very high from the students of Johnnie Cochran Academy. Good School.


Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2007
- a student
I have nothing but postive things to say about this school. The teachers and staff care. The parents are involved. My child is eager to go to school each day which is a plus. The only down side is that it only goes to the 5th grade and my daughter will be graduating this year. There are very few good options for middle school in the city. If my child doeesnt get into Whitney Houston she will be going back to Catholic school. I highley recommend this school for any parent who actually wants to be involved with their childs education.

Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School
190 Midland Avenue, East Orange, NJ  07017
(973) 395-5975
Last modified Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Johnnie L. Cochran Junior Academy Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top