Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edward T. Bowser Sr Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 719 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

My son will be going to the first grade, and I think he had the best teacher/assistant teacher team in the world. I must admit I was very impressed with the caliber of work that they gave the kids in Kindergarten, it was not the usual Kindergarten work. This teacher really prepared my son for the 1st grade, I call them The Dream Team, Ms. Harris and Ms. Jackson. If your child is going to Kindergarten, I would recommend you ask for your child to be in their class, THEY WILL LEARN. And they do such nice, fun things with the kids too. The office staff is great, Mr. Heaphy is just awesome, and Ms. Baxter and Ms. Kelly, you can see the dedication and commitment to the kids from them, and they love to see the kids happy and learning. I attended my son's Kindergarten graduation, that had to be one of THE BEST graduations I ever attended, and I have older children LOL. And the parent party they had for us last year was truly amazing. Look anyone who had a bad experience, you have to make sure that you are involved with your child's learning, they don't have time for nonsense there. This school is only for those who really want to learn. Anyway, glad to be able to post this review.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

The Edward T. Bowser, Sr. Unique school of Excellence is a Public , Pre- K-Fifth grade elementary school that services over 700 students. The student population consists of General , Special Education and English Language Learners.The educational theme is Medical Allied Health and Spanish Immersion.The Principal, Mr. Brian Heaphy and his two Assistant Principals, Elizabeth Kelly and Natashia Baxter are committed educators who strive to ensure that every child attending this facility is encouraged to grow academically, socially and emotionally through the implementation of a highly diversified,differentiated- collaborative approaches to learning. The staff voluntarily provides creative academic extensions through the facilitation of clubs that fosters self expression.Classrooms are buzzing with constructive student chatter as students learn to become risk takers and take responsibility for their learning outcomes.We are proud of our many achievements such as the creators of the First play depicting the 150th years of the East Orange Community and the annual Math Bees( grades 1-5) and Math Olympiad( K).Bowser elementary is a true educational oasis where children love learning!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 25, 2012

this school is excellent, the teachers are doing a great job with my kids. The techers are really nice and they always help my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

This is the first school year in NJ of 2 of my children and Im really unsatisfied, cant wait to end this semester to change them. Too many complains about my kid, and even their not doing a great job with him, he is suppose to be in a more specialized education and he is so frustrated for the first time, he is not learning nothing, they are not helping him. I did not have this situation in the past. NOT RECOMEND THIS SCHOOL TO NO ONE, not worthy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

My grandaugther has been a student at Bowser for the last four years. The principle, teachers, the administrative staff,and all of the support personnel are great. It is very easy to talk to anyone from the principle, to any of the faculty,or support personnel. I can always get an answer to any question. I know when I leave my child at school she will be safe and that she will get a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

My initial experience with the school demonstrated an atmosphere of caring nurturing, and fostering environment for children.However this year, I have experienced the opposite such as communication, and responsibility issues which are very important for both parents and school. It is sad to choose to take my children out of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

I have found that the staff and teachers are wonderful. As stated by another parent if you are an interested and involved parent the staff are more than willing to meet and remain in contact with you about your child's progress. I have been extremely pleased with the level of assistance that I an my son have received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

The staff and teachers at Edward T. Bowser are excellent. All three of my children attended this school and the teachers are very supportive and communicative. They always welcome parents to meet with them and discuss their child's progress. If you are an active, interested parent, your child will succeed because the teachers are committed to helping you help your child achieve academically as well as socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

I like this school because the teachers are great and they really care. My daughter has been in this school since kindergarden, now she's in the 2nd grade, and doing very well. And I am so fond of Ms. Kelly the Assistant principal, I feel like I can talk to her about anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

The overall quaity of education is average compared with other schools within the district. Supplement your child's schoolwork, it will help them greatly on standardized testing. The school climate is not that great. The administrators can be anti-social at times. Stay in contact with your child's teacher daily, they'll see that you care and give your child more attention to satisfy you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

My son graduated from Dr. John Howard in June 2004 after spending 2-5 grade there. The teachers are very supportive, and Dr. G the principal is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students51%
Female58%
Male45%
Black48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education58%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant51%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Former83%

Math

All Students67%
Female69%
Male66%
Black61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education71%
English language learners83%
Not migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former88%
Limited English Proficient Former92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students38%
Female41%
Male35%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
General education45%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant38%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students63%
Female64%
Male61%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education23%
General education67%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former79%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students79%
Female88%
Male71%
Black78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education31%
General education85%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former93%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students35%
Female43%
Male27%
Black34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education39%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant35%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students62%
Female61%
Male63%
Black61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education69%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant62%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 79% 16%
Hispanic 21% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Brian Heaphy

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

180 Lincoln Street
East Orange, NJ 07017
Phone: (973) 414-4170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Clark School
East Orange, NJ


G Washington Carver Inst
East Orange, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT