Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7 & Ungraded
Public district
East Orange, NJ
Students enrolled: 420
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Patrick F Healy Middle School 2

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
There are some really good teachers such as Ms Wilson who really care about the kids good or bad and she demands respect from the kids. Now you have others who call you if your child blows their nose the wrong way. I understand pre-teens are a handful but if the teacher cannot control students in their class maybe they need a new profession.

Patrick F Healy Middle School 1

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
Keep your children away from this school. The children are so bad. Sorry it is what it is. Lack of guidance. I really don't know what the adults in the school are doing. So many fights, cops around there ALL the time. Bad enough they do not respect their own school, they go to other schools and cause problems as well. Yesterday the kids from the Hart Middle School complex were throwing ice at peoples cars in front of another nearby school. I was looking right at them. Last month, kids from Hart Middle School complex were challenging cars to hit them. Just walking in front of the cars, daring cars to hit them. Where are their parents my goodness! It is so crazy what they do. Parents if you can, send them somewhere else, don't send them to these schools.


Patrick F Healy Middle School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
I love Patrick Francis Healy Middle School..The Principal and Teachers are the best. always to work with me to find a better solutions .. I had one teacher to volunteer my child to get caught up

Patrick F Healy Middle School 3

Posted August 12, 2013
- a community member
This school was very an educational learning institution ... the principal is very conceited and stuck up but other than that the teacher are engaged in students .. And the end of the year activities were awesome..

Patrick F Healy Middle School 1

Posted April 20, 2013
- a community member
The current principal, Dr. Monica Burton, has trashed this school. Students have the worst NJASK scores in the state (lowest 5 percent). Instead of working with the teachers to make a difference, she fires ALL who question her non-ability to lead, inspire and raise student achievement. ?Dr. Burton has had over 50 percent teacher turnover/replacement in the last 3 years - and the school is still failing. This points to lack of effective leadership. This is a Priority School and the RAC of Essex is considering a charter for this site. Dr. Burton had a prior bad reputation at Washington. The students do not respect her because she puts more focus on painting hallways than putting money into teacher copy machines, paper and supplemental reading material in classrooms. Avoid this school at all costs. Children leave this school less educated than when they arrive.


Patrick F Healy Middle School 1

Posted August 17, 2011
- a teacher
They frequently have a new principal, which can be a downside. While there are some quality teachers who inspire their students to succeed, schoolwide test scores are very low. The current principal seems more committed to improving the office decor, updating powersuits and designer heels, descending the office tower once every few days to check on teachers. Form over function, all talk no substance. "If it looks good..." Safety at this school is also a concern, students fight constantly, and most are unmotivated. Parents, this is not a good environment for learning, if that is what you hope for your child.

Patrick F Healy Middle School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are excellent the food is good and the classes are fun and educational

Patrick F Healy Middle School
no rating

Posted September 07, 2008
- a parent
This is our first year at Patrick Healey Middle, as my daughter is an eighth grader. Two days into the new school year, she is excited and I am pleased with her schedule. I optimistically look forward to the upcoming year.


Patrick F Healy Middle School 2

Posted April 12, 2008
- a teacher
I've worked at the school for many years. It's a horrible place for anyone who is committed to quality education. Under the previous principal, there was evidence of positive change. There are some talented teachers still there who are hardly recognized for their dedication and genuine desire to help the children. Gifted students go there and turn into unmotivated out-of-control youngsters, and the school is becoming more and more unsafe. Teachers are depressed and overstressed and the principal is a poor leader. Students fight each other and assault teachers too. Parents, do whatever you can to send your child elsewhere.

Patrick F Healy Middle School 4

Posted August 03, 2005
- a student
Being a current student at this school I think this school is terrific.This school does have some bad influences and students that sometimes keep the teacher from teaching but what schools don't have that.Patrick F. Healy has many programs to recongize the progress students make and rewarding programs like National Junior Honor Society.This school its ups and downs but its no different from any other schools.just because the test scores are low doesn't mean students don't try and are not willing.they just need to study more and that don't mean there bad students either.To close everything I think this school is terrific it might be shakey for first time students attending the school but it will all turn out somthing positive.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Patrick F Healy Middle School
116 Hamilton St, East Orange, NJ  07017
(973) 266-5670
Last modified Patrick F Healy Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Patrick F Healy Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top