Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ethel McKnight Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 12 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2009

I have 3 children in the school district and my oldest has been going to Mcknight for 5 years. I've been very happy with the school. All the teachers are very qualified and experienced. There's a mix of new and old teachers but I've found them all to be insightful and supportive. I wish the class sizes were a bit smaller. And yes there isn't much time for art and music. But I think it's more important to make sure that the kids have a firm foundation on core subjects first. Each of my kids are particularly strong in certain subjects and I have found that their teachers are accordingly adjusting their lesson plans to challenge the students that want more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

I know the 1st grade and the 5th grade teachers because my kids are are in their class. I am very happy to send my kids to this school since the teachers are extremely caring, well educated and respectful to the pupils. Even the administration staff is highly competent and they just know how to make the school a better place for every kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

I found the teachers quite mature and experienced. Some teachers are really great and work really hard with the class. Good luck to all the teachers and parents for doing such a great job and making EMK a better school among all the schools going forward !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

The Ethel McKnight School is a beautiful new school filled with a great staff of teachers and a PTA that consistantly keeps parents aware and involved. My child and my family are proud to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

I have had nothing but positive experiences from the Ethel McKnight school principal, teachers and staff. The PTA is second to none, and is focused on providing interesting and meaningful programs for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

I find the teachers to be quite young and inexperienced. They also seemd to have a high turnover of staff. At this point I am not very impressed. Seems most of the focus is on the english as a second language classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

I am very disappointed with this school. They seem to only teach to the state standards and nothing more. They lack any meaningful gifted or accelerated program. The principal seemed completely uninterested when asked about this. I guess this school would be ok for a child of average ability. If your child is not average I would stay away from this school. They seem to just do the minimum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

'This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for most kids, but our 1st grader is mildly autistic and has special needs. We have found the staff to have a universal lack of understanding of autism as well as a lack of willingness to understand. We have tried to work with the school for 2 long yrs but have found no other option but to remove our son from this school system for the upcoming year. It is important to note our son has been sucussful in other programs, just not in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My daughter just started the Kindergarten program in this school. The teachers (Mrs Cox and Mrs P) have been great. Also, i am happy that we have a brand new school. Way to go Ethel McKnight
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

I've found that the school's academic program generally to be sufficient. However the level of attention given to each child varied from class to class. I expected more consistance across the board no matter what class my child was in. At the first and second grade level there was not much exposure to music and art at a level my child had already been exposed to. In kindergarten she was exposed to learning notes on the piano and learning to recognize the art of historical painters and sculptors. That exposure did not exist once she attended McKnight. I must say that the parent involvement is excellent. However, I'd like to see more involvement centered around educational fun and not so much frivolous fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

My two girls were in the school last year. Kindergarten and 3rd. I have been please with their performance the staff is great and the principal is awesome. Great neigborhood 'Twin Rivers' - good school district. Relocated but I will still be in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

Ethel mcknight class of 2002 was amazing. I absolutely loved the teachers. They treated us like we were their kids but taught us so much. They were so nice. We did a lot of fun activities relevant to the subject. It was quite sad to leave the school but had so many memories. The teachers were always happy and put the kids into the great exciting mood of studying.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2005

Excellent , excellent , excellent Teachers are great. they really care about the school an the students. Neighborhood is up and coming. East Windsor building new housing(mansions). A lot of money moving in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students74%
Female78%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Hispanic58%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education36%
General education80%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant74%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students87%
Female83%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Hispanic69%
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education64%
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students63%
Female73%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Hispanic31%
White75%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
General education70%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students78%
Female80%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Hispanic60%
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education67%
General education82%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant78%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic80%
White98%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education80%
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students70%
Female72%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Hispanic30%
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special educationn/a
General education73%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant70%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students90%
Female84%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 51%
Hispanic 32% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 9%
Black 8% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

58 Twin Rivers Dr South
East Windsor, NJ 08520
Phone: (609) 443-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Applegarth Elementary School
Monroe Township, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT