Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Matthew School 5

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
The class of 2015 had the best test scores in the diocese, beating St Francis. My child earned scholarships to local Catholic high schools and is now in honors and sophmore level classes as a freshman. The robotics program is top notch, an amazing learning experience focused on developing personal skills, not only winning awards. Thank you SMS 6th, 7th and 8th grade teachers.

St. Matthew School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
Each grade is a family. They truly love one another and look out for each other. When new students arrive, they are happily welcomed like any new member to a family. Additionally, our school is committed to living our faith through service to others. This is what we do. Your child will begin in the early years with collecting food (we stock and maintain a food pantry in our school that is operated by those volunteers in the St. Vincent de Paul Society) and clothing to actually working in service to those who receive these donations by the time they reach 8th grade. Our kids actually face time with real people in need rather than merely Facetiming friends. Our kids make us and the community proud.


St. Matthew School 5

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
Our school reflects the many faces and faiths of our community. We share our love of learning and our values and celebrate what makes each of us unique. We offer a STREAM program (science, technology, religion, engineering, art, and math) and Google Classroom, with all it entails, and Chromebooks. Our school boasts a Robotics team and some of the highest test scores in the Diocese. We also offer band, art, basketball, and soccer. One current 8th grader was just notified that she is the one and only recipient of a full, 4-year scholarship to one of the most prestigious schools in New York City. In a small environment where every child knows every other child from PK-8, as do the parents, our children have highly honed interpersonal skills that will serve them well in high school, college, and beyond. Children blossom here. I know mine have...

St. Matthew School 4

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
I put my son in this school in 1st grade and we were coming from knollwood school in piscataway.We were very disappointed in knoll wood and our son was seriously lacking behind. Since the first day In St. Mathews our son has blossomed.The teachers and principal paid extra attention to his needs and they were very nurturing .This school is the best thing that happened to my son.

St. Matthew School 1

Posted December 25, 2015
- a parent
This school fails in math subject in every level. My 2 kids, one went to college, and failed the math portion of the entrance college exam. The other one who is currently in college is failing statistics due to the bad mathematics teaching in this school. They change teachers all the time. Principal left. Secretary left. Turnover is pretty quick. Tuition expensive. You are better off putting your kids to public school.


St. Matthew School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
Public schools give more paperwork and homework. This school has a lot of free time.

St. Matthew School 5

Posted June 14, 2015
- a community member
St. Matthew School is the best school in the diocese. It has a long history of success. Our alumni are doing excellent job in high school; not only academically, but morally and spiritually as well. The administration and faculty are the most caring group of people who treat our children like their own. The community is bonded like real families. We are so happy we made the right choice of sending our child to St. Matthew School.

St. Matthew School 5

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
I have two boys who attended St Matthew since Kindergarten. I could not be happier with the education and values they have received. My oldest is a freshman in High School getting straight A's while his younger brother is a member of the eighth grade class that just scored the highest Math, Reading and English standardized test grades of any school in the diocese.


St. Matthew School 5

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
We have been part of St Matthew community since 2003. Placing our children in St. Matthew School was the best decision we made. It is here that they have not only received a top notch education, but have also learned what it means to give back to their community, be accepting of others and to be nurtured in a faith filled environment. The connection the children have with their teachers and the administration is what every parent would hope for. It is a very special place!

St. Matthew School 5

Posted October 03, 2014
- a community member
I am a member of St. Matthew the Apostle Parish and am currently serving on the School Advisory Council. Prior to being on the Council, I really didn't know much about St. Matthew School. Since I've been on the Council, I have learned a lot. For example, the Terra Nova (standardized test) scores from 2014 placed St. Matthew School first in Reading, second in Mathematics, and third in Reading of all the Catholic Schools in the Diocese of Metuchen. Performances from past years have been similar. Although too much weight is placed on standardized test scores, it is a fact of life and important to know that St. Matthew School produces students that score very well on these tests. Small class size and the familial, welcoming atmosphere at St. Matthew School are very attractive features one should be looking for in a school for their children. St. Matthew School produces well-rounded students, grounded in faith, morals, and good citizenship. I am proud to be a member of the St. Matthew School Advisory Council.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Matthew School
100 Seymour Ave, Edison, NJ  08817
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (732) 985-6633
Last modified St. Matthew School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top