Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas Jefferson Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

TJ Teachers can be extremely helpful. The new Administration and Superintendent are soooo focused on TESTING, the teachers don't get to "teach" much. The principal is just focused on testing, doesn't leave her office much. Unless it's to discipline, or intimidate students, staff, and parents. She has very little interaction with others, and the vice-principal is just...."there." Things need to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

TJMS principal refused to support the school soccer team coach and the players when WWMS soccer coach made false allegations of roughing the players against the TJMS soccer team after TJMS beat WWMS first time in many years. In addition, the principal also disciplined the soccer team by suspending some of the players for the rest of the season. Because of that TJMS ended up losing their remaining games. Is this how a principal should support her own soccer team? What a sports friendly person she is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

I hated this school so much. I got bullied by the girls at my lunch table because guess what? You have assigned seating at lunch and they call you up by table. So if your table is called last you only get 5 minutes to eat. Not even joking about the time. The teachers were okay but I didn't really understand what they were teaching. The only teacher's that were really nice were the gym teachers and my chorus teacher. The chorus teacher was the best! The school is confusing with the the whole AB day thing. Overall, this school stinks.


Posted September 14, 2013

TJ is a great school to go to and so much fun! The teachers are nice and very helpful. Over all this school rocks!


Posted April 17, 2013

When I was there last year I was the scapegoat for others misdoings and when I discussed it with the "Friendly" teachers and principal they ignored me and in future instances they became biased in every situation following our discussion. Not only this but their were many fights making it an unsafe learning environment also I personally saw several students with knives when this was reported not only by me but by several other students and nothing was done about it. also I witnessed certain teachers observe other students disobeying many of the rules and not say or do anything about it. Overall i would rate this school a 1 out of 10 due to the repeated infractions of the rules that i have personally witnessed. This makes me overjoyed to say that I am no longer attending this school.


Posted January 27, 2010

this school is amazing, i have only been here for 2 years since i was a new student last year and everyone was nice. the teachers are amazing. they would help you in anything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2009

It's my first year here at TJ, and I got a warm welcome! My teachers are all really nice! Even though when I came to this school, I knew only 1/4 of the school, I made new friends easily! No matter if they went to Lincoln, Washington, Lindeneau, or John Marshall with me, we all got along and became one whole big group of friends! I wonder how my next 2 years here are going to be like...
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2008

Amazing school with great a great music program, sports pragram, and clubs. Outsatanding number of school spirt and not a single strand of bulling. Plus the most fun and creative yet stirct teachers. This is my third year here and I dont want to leave it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2008

excellent! very strict yet fun
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

this school is really fun!!! the teachers are mad cool!! and year books are really nice!=] this school is rather poor though needs more activeites though like other schools. but anways this school is mad fun like the class trips and stuff=]*****
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2007

Most of the teachers are outstanding. The music program is great and there is a sports program. Other extracurricular activities are lacking. No real year book which is a disappointment. Needs more school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

i think the school is okay! the teachers are good and the food is good. overall it is average. the extracurricular activities are poor. there should be more activites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2006

Excellent ESL program and wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 17, 2004

The teaching staff is rather new and in a transforming stage, as of 2004. Most teachers are very easy to get in touch with as well as available for extra help.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students70%
Female73%
Male67%
Black52%
Asian88%
Hispanic60%
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Special education22%
General education80%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant70%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students85%
Female88%
Male81%
Black83%
Asian97%
Hispanic71%
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Special education49%
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant85%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students77%
Female81%
Male72%
Black44%
Asian91%
Hispanic69%
White76%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant77%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students70%
Female70%
Male71%
Black39%
Asian89%
Hispanic44%
White74%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
General education79%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant70%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students86%
Female92%
Male80%
Black84%
Asian96%
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students67%
Female67%
Male67%
Black58%
Asian89%
Hispanic47%
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
General education82%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students77%
Female78%
Male77%
Black61%
Asian95%
Hispanic68%
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant77%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 36% 9%
White 32% 51%
Hispanic 16% 22%
Black 15% 16%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Antoinette Emden

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 Division Street
Edison, NJ 08817
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 650-5290

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Yeshiva Shaarei Tzion Boys
Piscataway Township, NJ


Timothy Christian School
Piscataway Township, NJ


An-Noor Academy
Piscataway, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT