Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8 & Ungraded
Public
Edison, NJ
Students enrolled: 721

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a community member
I can very easly make friends in this school. This place is awsome! In ss, A A A A A A A A A A A A and so on with those a's. The teachers don't go 'bla bla bla bla bla bla bla!' The speak like regular humans:) We get to do projects( in MY science class) no more than 3 HW's for me:|)

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 3

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
TJ Teachers can be extremely helpful. The new Administration and Superintendent are soooo focused on TESTING, the teachers don't get to "teach" much. The principal is just focused on testing, doesn't leave her office much. Unless it's to discipline, or intimidate students, staff, and parents. She has very little interaction with others, and the vice-principal is just...."there." Things need to change.


Thomas Jefferson Middle School 1

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
TJMS principal refused to support the school soccer team coach and the players when WWMS soccer coach made false allegations of roughing the players against the TJMS soccer team after TJMS beat WWMS first time in many years. In addition, the principal also disciplined the soccer team by suspending some of the players for the rest of the season. Because of that TJMS ended up losing their remaining games. Is this how a principal should support her own soccer team? What a sports friendly person she is!

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 1

Posted December 18, 2013
- a community member
I hated this school so much. I got bullied by the girls at my lunch table because guess what? You have assigned seating at lunch and they call you up by table. So if your table is called last you only get 5 minutes to eat. Not even joking about the time. The teachers were okay but I didn't really understand what they were teaching. The only teacher's that were really nice were the gym teachers and my chorus teacher. The chorus teacher was the best! The school is confusing with the the whole AB day thing. Overall, this school stinks.

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 4

Posted September 14, 2013
- a community member
TJ is a great school to go to and so much fun! The teachers are nice and very helpful. Over all this school rocks!


Thomas Jefferson Middle School 1

Posted April 17, 2013
- a community member
When I was there last year I was the scapegoat for others misdoings and when I discussed it with the "Friendly" teachers and principal they ignored me and in future instances they became biased in every situation following our discussion. Not only this but their were many fights making it an unsafe learning environment also I personally saw several students with knives when this was reported not only by me but by several other students and nothing was done about it. also I witnessed certain teachers observe other students disobeying many of the rules and not say or do anything about it. Overall i would rate this school a 1 out of 10 due to the repeated infractions of the rules that i have personally witnessed. This makes me overjoyed to say that I am no longer attending this school.

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a student
this school is amazing, i have only been here for 2 years since i was a new student last year and everyone was nice. the teachers are amazing. they would help you in anything.

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted January 26, 2009
- a student
It's my first year here at TJ, and I got a warm welcome! My teachers are all really nice! Even though when I came to this school, I knew only 1/4 of the school, I made new friends easily! No matter if they went to Lincoln, Washington, Lindeneau, or John Marshall with me, we all got along and became one whole big group of friends! I wonder how my next 2 years here are going to be like...


Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted December 19, 2008
- a student
Amazing school with great a great music program, sports pragram, and clubs. Outsatanding number of school spirt and not a single strand of bulling. Plus the most fun and creative yet stirct teachers. This is my third year here and I dont want to leave it.

Thomas Jefferson Middle School 5

Posted June 21, 2008
- a parent
excellent! very strict yet fun

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Jefferson Middle School
450 Division Street, Edison, NJ  08817
(732) 650-5290
Last modified Thomas Jefferson Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas Jefferson Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top