Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


James Madison Intermediate Elementary School 3

Posted November 02, 2014
- a parent
The principal does not listen carefully to the parent's comments. He makes his own rules. Especially in the area of bullying he does not take a neutral stand and looks at both sides of the story before making a decision.

James Madison Intermediate Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
My 5th grader and 3rd grader are doing well in school. The teachers are good; they expect the best from and challenge their students when they see that the students are capable. The principal is pretty down to earth, and acts promptly if there is a problem. The school handles bullying and other issues pretty well, and follows the zero tolerance policy. The curriculum is also good: aside from regular classes, there are Music, Arts, Gym, and Spanish classes. Kids can also get into the G&T program, which my 2 kids are part of. There is differentiated instruction from the teachers, so students work at their own level but are being challenged at the same time. The clubs, most, teacher-organized and some, parent-organized, are very well-attended. They are Student Council, Odyssey of the Mind, Mad Science, Paw Pals, Band, Choir, Math, Robotics, Memory Book , Newspaper, Chess, Art, Sports, and Drama Clubs. The PTO is very involved in school. They organize a lot of the activities and fund-raisers, some of which are Science Fair, Cultural Night, Book Fair, Thanksgiving Lunch, Chinese New Year celebration, Diwali celebration, among others. Field trips are also funded in part by the PTO.


James Madison Intermediate Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a community member
This school is amazing! Last year i had just started attending 4th grade and i couldn't love this school any more. I love this school so much that i don't want to graduate! The teachers are so friendly! they understand the students and act as a role model for them. This school also has many assemblies and festivities. It also includes many clubs such as ... art club, memory book club( design memory book), odessy of the mind and robotics club. All students attending this school are satisfied with the classes and curriculum this school features. I don't know a person who'd hate this school because it has so much to offer. If you are looking for a school to attend, JMI is the place to go! I know you won't make the wrong decision!

James Madison Intermediate Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a community member
This School Is AWESOME! the principle is very nice he Stops bullying a soon it happens! He was there for the Halloween Trunk or treat and dressed up perfect and always allows clubs (Like The odyssey of the mind etc) They are very fun He loves the students and take part in MANY activities Involving the PTO we just had a science Fair he was there taking pictures with the kids and handing out certificates he has Lunch with the principle every month For The Pillars He lets the students ask any question and he"ll answer it the teachers are amazing and give special attention to the kids if they need hep the teachers will help the students individually and they are not that strict and they don't scream at the students they will just talk nicely and if they get mad they will just punish the kids like no recess or do it when we are having a party - Submitted By a Student

James Madison Intermediate Elementary School 3

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
This school has a good standardized testing curriculum. Teachers make the students work hard for standardized tests. But, some teachers do not make the students feel comfortable at school, which is discouraging. It would be much better if the teachers were concerned about the students' feelings.


James Madison Intermediate Elementary School 1

Posted April 08, 2011
- a parent
This school is terrible the principal is the most ignorant person that you would ever want to come in contact with. The teachers basically run out of the school at 3:20. They promote bullying by pretending as though it does now happen. If you can avoid this school.

James Madison Intermediate Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 09, 2009
- a student
This is a wonderful school!Teachers are so nice.The principal is very kind too.Many programs that include classes,grades and even the whole school.It is a perfect school for new children and kids wils love the play ground.The gym teachers keep kids in shape.I would recomend this school for anyone.My years of being in this school(3 years) had been very fun.Also,a primary school is right next door so smaller sibiling can go there,.Thta to is a great school.

James Madison Intermediate Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2008
- a parent
I love this school! teachers are wonderful, hardworking, really go the extra mile. plaenty of tutoring opportunities as well. Extra curricular activities are limited, but you have to pick and choose your battles!!


James Madison Intermediate Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2008
- a parent
Fabulous teadhers and staff. Hard working students, great friends of my sons. Teachers are dedicated to working after hours with chldren. Plenty of tutorng oppotunities. I heard it is expanding.

James Madison Intermediate Elementary School 4

Posted June 12, 2006
- a parent
The academics are above average and good for an elementary school. However, there are few extracurricular activities. The school asked children to donate balls for recess. Basketball hoops are missing nets. The large field has many bumps and depressions which makes it easy to twist an ankle. The teachers keep good records of students' progress and appropriately challenge them. Overall, a very good school academically. PTA seems to be cliquish.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Madison Intermediate Elementary School
838 New Dover Road, Edison, NJ  08820
(732) 452-2960
Last modified James Madison Intermediate Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James Madison Intermediate Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top