Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Monroe Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
very successful school in a perfect neighborhood in the prestigious north edison school district. builds great caracter in students and offers great education in a competitive environment.

James Monroe Elementary School 1

Posted July 11, 2013
- a parent
Horrible school...they spoiled my child's entire year.My child got an old teacher this year who was neither competent to teach, nor she was interested in teaching either..whole year she just gave homework without teaching anything in the class.Principal is very hard to approach, as the secretaries who are on the phone line they never allow you to reach the principal. Very disappointed with the school, system and teacher.the teacher demotivated and degraded my child.Old teachers like her should be simply thrown out of the system. Better beware of James monroe elementary....


James Monroe Elementary School 1

Posted December 04, 2012
- a parent
worst school with worst teachers.......trying to get in touch with principal since last many days....due to teachers not taking care of the curriculum in grade 5 , but to no avail. If the principal of this school is reading this then he must note that the teachers in grade 5 are not doing their job.they are skipping curriculum...which may spoil a childs future or career.

James Monroe Elementary School 4

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
Our son has attended James Monroe since the 2nd grade. He is now finishing 5th and will be graduating this month! Overall, we have been very pleased with the school. The field trips and events have all be wonderful and he's enjoyed each and every one of them. The school nurse and guidance counselors have all been wonderful as well. The before and after school prorgram offered by Edison Recreation has also been great and very convenient as it is right in the school.

James Monroe Elementary School 4

Posted April 19, 2012
- a community member
I am trying to find my deceased brothers 3rd grade teacher. He attended James Monroe for 4 years. If anyone can help, please let me know if you can think of their names. It would have been between 1988 and 1989. Thank you for your help


James Monroe Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been in this school for 3 years now and my son for a year. Excellent school. This school helps the child to think out of the box. It encourages creativity and all round development.

James Monroe Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has been in this school for a year now. I can see devoted teachers, a principal who knows kids by name. This is a school that sees to a complete development of child. -- Great Job and thank you.

James Monroe Elementary School 4

Posted September 24, 2005
- a student
Although I attended James Monroe several years ago, I am very pleased with the school as well as the district. Along with several academic programs, James Monroe also offered band, strings, chorus, sports and gifted and talented programs.


James Monroe Elementary School 4

Posted August 21, 2005
- a parent
James Monroe has great parent involvement. I really like the way the teachers can differentiate academic levels. The small class size is also a plus. We have full day kindergarten which is wonderful for kids who have been to pre-k. Overall, my family is very happy here as are our friends.

James Monroe Elementary School 4

Posted June 14, 2004
- a parent
My son went for his Kindergarden to this school and I found that the Teacher student working has been very good and they encourage my child a lot. But one thing which I was disappointed was that I was told by the end of Kindergarden my son would be able to read small books which he has not yet started doing, but he seems to write few words.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Monroe Elementary School
7 Sharp Road, Edison, NJ  08837
(732) 452-2970
Last modified James Monroe Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James Monroe Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top