Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodbrook Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 868 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Great School,Best Principal,Awsome Teachers. The teachers know when to joke around and when to be serious. The school always looks like it's new and the hallways are large. All students maintain discipline at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

My daughter joined KG in 2012 in this school. She loves to attend school everyday even on holidays. Regarding her academic performance ,the results are more satisfactory. During the parent tea her meeting teachers are more helpful in making their students meet the standards. My daughter improved a lot and she is willing to continue with school. My daughter never went to preschool before KG. With parent's help and teacher's guidance children can improve. In our first parent teacher conference her teacher's suggestions made her improve more. Because of this school we are not moving away to another place. Excellent PTA .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

Excellent school! Excellent teachers! Great curriculum, lots of challenges for the gifted/talented! Great upgraded library! The middle school students go to from here is very good, that's a plus!My husband has a long commute to work and we really thought of moving, but the school's too good to let go! I have a fourth grader daughter who has flourished and blossomed here in the past two years, academically and otherwise. She loves her school, esp. every teacher she has had at second, third and fourth grades, and is loved back by all her teachers! :) The school has a strong PTA, many occasions to meet the teachers, and many colorful events throughout the year. My son is in first grade and is learning a lot too! His teacher has helped him catch up with a lot after many medical absences he has had this year. Here teachers respond to emails/notes, and are very caring. The nurse is a darling! She is so polite, sweet and understanding; caring and attentive! I thank her for all that and more! The principal, Mrs.Cirillo, is the sweetest person and the most efficient/dedicated administrator I have come across! She is the heart of the school!! God bless Mrs.Cirillo ...God bless Woodbrook!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

I am so happy to be a part of this school.. The pricipal is one of the finest i have evr met,. She has made the school going s far.. Her enthusiusm and the way she brngs in new projects for the school is amazing. The teachers go overboard when it comes to students.. They take personal attention in making sure the child climbs up the ladder together with other kids.. Theytalk so sweetly to u amd respond on the mal that day itself... They tell u all the places u can improve woth the kid...we wanted to move out to sme place else.. But the school makes us stat.. And we will...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

My daughter has been attending for a few years and I have many positive things to say about this school. The curriculum is wonderful, they have implemented many new programs including Journeys reading, Spanish language and Singapore Math. The staff, teachers and principal are a dedicated and hardworking group. The PTA is very involved and offer terrific after school programs and other spirit filled events like the class parties, Holiday Boutique, School Store, and Field Day just to name a few. The renovation of the the new school library is a great addition too. The school is very current on technology with smart boards in every classroom and iPads and laptops in the new state of the art library/media center. The only drawback is the lack of a lunchroom so students can order hot food but it has to be in advance so it takes some planning. Other than that, we are very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

BEST SCHOOL EVER!!!Teachers are too good.Parents are involved in all activities.There are A LOT of clubs which are fun and educating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

Our current principle is amazing. Apart from 4th grade teachers, rest of the group is good. The school biggest sore is the 4th grade teachers. Parents, most of them are lazy in volunteering. Since most of them from Asia--- they believe if you don't get money for a work its not worth doing it. The budget cuts have really taken a toll on schools activities. Wish there were easier and simpler way to remove the teachers who are just using our tax money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2010

I have two sons in Woodbrook Elementary School, one in Kindergarten, one in 3rd grade in 2009. From my observation of my sons' education received and my experiences with the teachers and staff, I give Woodbrook five stars. It is an excellent school. Here are some highlights. 1. Teachers know their kids My two sons sometimes experience some issues at learning certain skills/academics, their teachers could observe the issues spot on and recommend extra help from school and get parents involved to work together. 2. Teachers are very responsive interacting with parents. Every time I sent email to my sons' teachers, they always repond back very quickly. Our questions answered, and suggestions are made to help our sons to progress. 3. Principal and staff are friendly and accomodating. Principal is always out there helping kids and parents, she is very accessible and helpful. Same for school staffs.


Posted June 2, 2010

My child has flourished both in academics and in social behavior the day she joined this school. Teachers are very encouraging and co-operative. Very Good school.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My son goes to 2nd grade to this school. He went to kindergarten and 1st grade in not so good school district. I find his previous school was much better than this. His vocabulary and went from excelent to bad. His spelling(he was is a spelling bee contest in 1st grade) went from excellent to bad. You name it , every area of his studies has gone bad. I am so angry in the methods they teach kids. Totally disorganized. Keeps me wondering how the school has got a good rating. Its just because of the kids parents who groom the children into academics. The duty which has to done by teachers are now done by parents. Feels like they are baby sitting the kids rather than teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

This is a good school but overcrowded. so overcrowded that the school is converting the library into classrooms. Each class has between 25-28 kids. The school has NO music room, NO art room, NO cafeteria, NO strings teaching, and now NO LIBRARY. Reading is vital to learning. Parents have to pay for every activities. Bussing costs $500 per child which parents pay if they want bus for kids. This is an expensive public school. Nice school building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Great School..A principal with a vision and teachers that are committed to make your kid learn, stay focused, succeed and still come home and say 'I have fun in school'...what else would a parent need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

The education is excellent. Teachers spend time with students to make their personal development plans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

The education is really very nice. The way of teaching is fabulous. The most important point is this school has a very good and caring principal..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

A warm & friendly atmosphere & my daughter just loves it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Woodbrook Elementary school is the best school ever! My children love being there. I feel confident my children are getting the best education the system has to offer! No doubt the teachers , staff and community makes this great start possible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Teachers are wonderful and the school is a great place for any student.


Posted November 5, 2009

Wonderful school with an amazing principal & caring teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

'school with outstanding track record in academical excellence'
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 4, 2009

Environment, Friendly culture and respectable teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students94%
Female94%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant94%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian99%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students86%
Female84%
Male86%
Black50%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education50%
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Black67%
Asian98%
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education67%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian99%
Hispanicn/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
General education99%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant99%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students89%
Female92%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant89%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students97%
Female98%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
General education99%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant97%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 79% 9%
White 12% 51%
Black 4% 16%
Hispanic 3% 22%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Robin Road
Edison, NJ 08820
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 452-2901

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






A B Z Academy
Metuchen, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT