Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Genevieve School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Elizabeth

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $209,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2013

As for the review dated Jan 2013 I would have to disagree with this parent's comments. I have sent both my children to this school with my youngest graduating this year. Thanks to the education they both received at St Gen's not only have they both been honor students throughout their years there, they were also accepted to the private high schools of their choice. My youngest received a scholarship to her high school and my oldest was accepted to the Magnet high schools in Scotch Plains and attended a prestigious all boys prep school for high school. He is currently in college on scholarship, all thanks to the education they received and the dedication of their teachers! As for the facilities my children had access to their media center, science lab, after school clubs, sports programs, school dances ,school trips, academic competitions and student council etc. I am saddened that this parent had a bad experience with this school. Not all children and schools have the right fit but to disparage the school, students and teachers that make St Gen's a great place is highly insulting. As past reviews have said it is a great place of community and education for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

Do not send your children here! Most of the teachers are lacking drive, and barely any are certified, some don't even have a college degree. Many of them were just brought on as aids and given jobs when spots opened. The students are very undisiplined. So many of them have undiagnosed special needs that the staff refuses to recodnize and if they do, no good ever comes of it. It has no facilities, and structurally it is falling apart. They constantly have a new problem whether it's a bed bug infestation, abestous in the walls, or lead paint. As a former student let me tell you that you do more religon than math, and it is the main focus. Your child will be so behind compared to any student in a public school even the inner city ones. Don't do this to your child, move to a better area and send them to a school there.


Posted July 23, 2011

I am a proud parent of a St. Genevieve student. My child has attended the school for 9 years and enjoyed every minute. The leadership at the school is superior. The faculty is dedicated and tireless. Students from St. Gen s are often the recipients of scholarships to prestigious schools. As with most private schools these days funding is often a challenge yet the school has a computer lab, a science lab, and a state of the art media center and is working on updating the electronics package in each classroom. The culture and spiritual guidance that the students receive is only rivaled by the quality of the academics. The one drawback is that there is no gymnasium, yet I would still recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2011

I currently attend St. Genevieve's school and it is the most spectacular school there is. I receive an education you could not possibly imagine from teachers who help me and are my friends. I couldn't imagine going to another school because I have found St. Gen's to be my home. I came looking for a good education but I found so much more than that. I find myself eager to come to school. St. Gen's is the best.


Posted October 25, 2009

St. Gen's is a very diverse school with an outstanding academic curriculum and a welcoming spirit for everyone. Our children attended St. Gen's from Pre-K to 8th. The youngest one graduated this year. We are very happy to have made the decision to send our children to this school. Along with excellent academics, there is also a deep sense of community and teamwork. Communication at St. Gen's is always personal and parents, teachers administrators and staff, all work closely for the benefit of each child. Every child receives individual attention. The children are well educated, happy, disciplined, safe and they are always challenged to strive for greater achievents. By the time they graduate they are thoroughly ready for any top level high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

St. Gen's has come a long way over the years since my first child began there. Now the my third child has entered the St. Gen's community. The school has an excellent support system among parents and staff, we are a very close community and everyone is familiar with each other. The faculty are excellent and strives hard to give our children the best education available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

The children are happy, safe and well mannered. It's a tight knit community with very involved parents and community. Children get lots of attention and assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 20%
White 20% 52%
Two or more races 17% 1%
Black 8% 19%
Asian 3% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

209 Princeton Rd
Elizabeth, NJ 07208
Phone: (908) 355-3355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Yeshiva of Elizabeth
Elizabeth, NJ




Sherman Elementary School
Roselle Park, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT