Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elizabeth High School

Public | 9-12 | 721 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2004

I have a daughter that is a freshman in the EHS (Edison House). This is now November and I haven't seen or have had any problems yet. I went to parent/teacher night and all of her teachers were very concerned about her. The teachers were letting me know about the participation level that she is involved in, in her classes. Also, she has been absent a few days and they make sure they call and let me know that she wasn't present on each occasion. Overall, I feel at this time, that the school isn't all that bad, I feel the teachers that she has at this time are very concerned and ready to teach. Also, her guidance counselor is available at all times, when needed. Yes, the parents need to get involved in their childs lives because teachers cannot do it alone if the parent does not give their part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

My review is based on the Halsey House. This school is aweful, I rate it a 2. The teachers never have the accurate attendance. The teachers will all mark the kids absent but the attendence will say they were there. The councelors are not reliable, you as a parent will have to always be on top of them. The office staff is the worste, no respect for the parents. The one good thing is that the security is always around. The principal is never available when needed someone else is aways covering for him. As a parent you would know your child and they would try to make it seem as if you are trying to cover for your child whether it's an attendance issue or a sick child, this school is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2004

I just finished my junior year. Yeah, there's a lot of wrap about EHS. I'm one of those people who are making the best of it, but it's hard to concentrate with so many unwilling to learn. There's nothing to be afraid of there unless you're a disrespectful person towards your classmates. The best thing about EHS is the extracurriculars. If you're looking for a great education, I wouldn't recommend that you find it there. I think I have a well-rounded education, with a balance of both EC's and school. If you go there, take advantage of everything that it has to offer; take all the honors and AP classes, join sports and clubs. I appreciate going there because you meet some 'real' people. The BOE was the one who gave me money to go to summer schools at Ivy Leagues. It all depends on the person going there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2004

I am a junior at the moment and after being in EHS for 3 years I realized that I should've transfered. It's my school and all, but the majority of the students do not respect teachers, their fellow classmates and worst of all, themselves. Of course there are students who attend that make the best of it. There are teachers who do not care but there are also teachers who do care. It's hard to judge my school, but I must give it 2 stars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2004

This school offers excellent extracurricular activities and a high teacher quality, however, the discipline is low and the parents have to help the students to chose their courses because the counselour can give them any schedule.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2003

I think the school itself is one of the better quality schools, however without parent involvement, the children are at serious risk for the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Unless you yourself went to Elizabeth High, you really can't relate... after 4 years of that shcool I'm so glad to be out and so sad that I didn't transfer high schools when I had the chance, now in college I struggle in classes because EHS didnt give me the training I needed. That school is over crowded, walking in the hallways is impossible, for 4 years I received no education in math and I told, my guidance councelor, my house director, etc. no one cares in that school, parents, get your kids out of there.


Posted May 4, 2003

EHS is a school that is known as the Melting Pot High School. First you'll think there one race in this city or school, it's not it diverse of many differnt contries and academics are wonderful and challgning also they have strict policies and also this is NJ Largest High School which carry an estimate of 5,250 students, for more in formation please check the website http://www.elizabeth.k12.nj.us/


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant100%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black95%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged99%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant98%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black91%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant96%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 22%
Black 15% 16%
White 15% 52%
Asian 4% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Michael Cummings

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

447 Richmond St.
Elizabeth, NJ 07202
Website: Click here
Phone: (908) 436-5860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT