Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
75 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 88 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Elizabeth High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 05, 2015
- a student
Depends on the teachers and classes you have, harder classes and teachers usually means less work...

Elizabeth High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a student
All students are given all the resources to excel but only a few take it


Elizabeth High School 5

Posted December 05, 2015
- a student
(Regarding Lower and Upper Academy) Plain and simple, these are the best high schools in Elizabeth. They offer a rigorous and extremely challenging curriculum for children that are willing to excel. The education here is top notch, not only compared to other schools in the city but in the country. The teachers here make sure you understand whats being taught and are happy to help you if you ask. The kids here are really smart and are ready to take control of their future. I'm not surprised they are a blue ribbon school and I absolutely believe they deserve their new state of the art building. These are Elizabeth's best! (Hamilton is not bad) but the rest of the schools are something else. The majority of the kids in those school show no effort to get a better education. All they want to do is laugh and play. I'm pretty sure if they weren't so disrespectful and out of control more teachers would actually try to teach! Only in Dwyer,Halsey, Edison, and Jeff will you see fights every other day, kids smoking outside and INSIDE of the school, and outrageous behavior. They honestly need new principles and staff in those schools to show them some discipline. The schools barely even serve their purpose, especially Jeff. Please know the difference between Lower and Upper and the rest of the unfortunate students and staff at the rest of the buildings.

Elizabeth High School 1

Posted September 28, 2012
- a parent
I wrote the review dated August 2, 2012. I am so glad I put my student in a private school. We learned that the supposed best school, Lower Academy, is approximately 50% over its capacity! Do not let your child attend these schools if at all possible.

Elizabeth High School 1

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
Based solely on the reviews posted here by current and former students, i can say with 100% certainty that this school is NOT doing a very good job in terms of teaching, even fundamental, grammar and spelling.


Elizabeth High School 5

Posted September 17, 2011
- a parent
I think Hamilton and the Upper and Lower Academies are the way to go as far as the high schools here in Elizabeth. My daughter attended Lower Academy and is now a sophomore at Upper. They are great and they really instill in our children the fundamentals to gaining more education through knowledge and aspire to continue their education past high school. There was no need for me to transfer my child out because of this.

Elizabeth High School 1

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
More Counselor involvement, non challenging curriculum and very low tolerant teachers. My son attends this school, loud fights, arguments in hall ways. Teachers turn blind eye, no help with lessons given. No tutoring, Nothing that want to make you get up and go to this school. Edison Technical School needs help, besides a New Building.

Elizabeth High School 4

Posted July 04, 2011
- a student
I think this school is amazing. I just graduated 2011 and i must say that this school has academic potential. most of the administrative staff must be rearranged but overall the school is magnificent. I attended to The thomas Jefferson Arts Academy and it was quite satisfactory. like i said the teaching needs improving, if that is to work the school could have an even greater reputation.


Elizabeth High School
no rating

Posted March 05, 2010
- a student
I love Elizabeth high no matter what people think about it. I just graduated out of Elizabeth high class of 2009. Thanks to EHS rigous gradation requirements and education I graduated successfully and I'm attending Harvard University in the fall.

Elizabeth High School 3

Posted September 17, 2009
- a student
I'm a student in Hamilton Academy and now a Junior. The only good touch about EHS are the academies, such as Upper, Lower and Hamilton. Those are the buildings that get you to want to go to college and make something for yourself. Many people I know that went to the academies got scholarships and went to prestigious colleges. Now for the other part of EHS, the main complex and Jefferson. Those are not the best houses to attend. The scent of drugs in the bathroom and gambling in the back of a classroom will not be warranted by a kid who wants to achieve. More fights then good grades are achieved in the main complex. If if were someone in middle school, I'd suggest getting your grades up, so you can go to the academies. Trust me, doing that will benefit you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elizabeth High School
447 Richmond St., Elizabeth, NJ  07202
(908) 436-6855
Last modified Elizabeth High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elizabeth High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. Top