Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Number 1, George Washington Elementary School 1

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
In all honesty, if you have a child that is bright, articulate, well behaved and willing to learn. FIGHT WITH ALL YOU HAVE TO KEEP THEM OUT OF THIS SCHOOL. There is a severe lack of discipline and supervision and this school just seems to be an unorganized mess. It is unfair for parents who work hard to teach their kids the right way to be forced to subject them to this type of environment. Also it is sad to say but their is little to no parent involvement leaving the teachers pretty much helpless in the situation. I just moved to this area from another state and I could not believe what I was seeing. If this is our future then I am extremely saddened and afraid.

Number 1, George Washington Elementary School 1

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
the teaching staff is qualified abd they do the best they can. My child gets hurt by other students on an almost daily basis. Suspended kids sneak back in to the building. Many parents are not only not involved in their kids school, they are in gangs so violence breeds violence. Not a safe school, something needs to be done.


Number 1, George Washington Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
One thing that I am sure of is that there needs to be some changes. The teaching staff is great but I'm pretty sure there is a resource issue. While newer schools are going up all over Elizabeth, this is one that has been left behind. The building needs and overhaul as well as disciplinary rules. You will not feel safe as you send your children off into this abyss. You just hope that they come home in one piece.

Number 1, George Washington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
i feel that the school is not well organized and the student lack more academic structure, my son is in resource program and have not received his resource class yet. i feel with a little bit more dedication and commitment also from the parents the school may be able to progress a little more.

Number 1, George Washington Elementary School 1

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Number 1, George Washington Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Number 1, George Washington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
my daughter has attended GW#1 for the past seven years and its like they do not teach them a single thing their. I think that this school needs to improve on their work, start controlling their stdents, try to maintain better grades on all of these students. This is rediculouse.

Number 1, George Washington Elementary School 1

Posted November 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Number 1, George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Number 1, George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2008
- a parent
My children have attended GW#1 for the past two academic years, & I have found the staff, teachers & enviornment to be very caring. The school is constantly trying to maintain a positive enviornment & has many programs to get families involved in learning process.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Number 1, George Washington Elementary School
250 Broadway, Elizabeth, NJ  07206
(908) 436-5555
Last modified Number 1, George Washington Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Number 1, George Washington Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top