Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School 2

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
The faculty is immature, self-centered, and lacks the drive that makes a teacher great(not all, but 3/4). The secretary called my 7-8 year old stupid. Not the best environment for learning. When I brought it to the attention of the Principal, he basically that me to go talk to the wall. Now, my child goes to the Gifted and Talented School #31 and loves it. School #15 does just enough to get by. The City of Elizabeth is way over rated in education.

Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
There is way too much homework and projects handed out at the same time. It is as if the teachers do not communicate with each other. Coming from a family of Educators, this place deserves the 2/10 it gets.


Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School 3

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
My daughter goes to this school since the first grade and now she is in the fifth. I think the problem has been the failure of the board picking the wrong principals now we have a new principal and vice principal , so I'm hoping this is a good match for the school. The teachers are wonderful and caring my daughter has enjoy her time in this school. The school does need to work getting the papers to the parents at least a week before and please get some that knows what they are doing in the award ceremony.

Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attends this school and she loves it. She is in 2nd grade and the curriculum is advanced. My daughter is challenged everyday. The teachers are nice and my daughter hasn't been bullied.

Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School 4

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
HMy daughter is in 8th grade and has been here seens 4th grade and she loves this school. Its helping her alot and her teachers are always on top of her to do well and i have to say i love this school.


Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School 4

Posted January 25, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in Kindergarten this year and this is her first year in this school. She loves being in this school and loves her teacher. There is alot of work for being in Kindergarten, but I personally think it's great. My daughter needs the challenge because she gets bored to easily. What I like the most is that her teacher keeps us informed on a daily basis on how she is doing and we also receive a monthly progress report. The only thing I don't like about this school is that we receive some information late. As fulltime working parents with 2 other children, we like to have advanced notice of anything going on, so we can make arrangements if needed.

Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School 4

Posted September 13, 2008
- a parent
My daughter seems very content and so far has had a postive attitude at #15. She is going from private to public and so are about 11 of her friends this year. 5 are in this registered and and all 5 speak highly of their teachers, classmates, and work. So as of 9/12/08, everything seems great and I hope it remains the same throughout. thumbs up #15

Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School 1

Posted March 10, 2005
- a parent
I think the kdg. curriculum is going way to fast. My child is 5yrs old and his kdg experience should be a happy one, but, it's not. He is stressed everyday because he is expected to read fluently when he just learned to read. He just learned to count to 100 and now is expected to count by 2's 5's and 10's. My child hates school already. I can't wait to get my child out of this school.


Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School 2

Posted November 02, 2004
- a parent
We are not happy with some things in this school. The information that we receive either comes the day before or doesn't come at all. We are still waiting for our school calendar and first marking period is almost over. This is not the first time.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School
511 Third Ave, Elizabeth, NJ  07202
(908) 436-5730
Last modified Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Number 15, Christopher Columbus Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top