Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
There is only one individual in the entire school who is very respectful and caring for the children other than that, worst , worst staff ever.

Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
Huh, not enough, Home is a game for the school to trick the parents and show them that school is working hard with the children.


Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
Very reckless staff. Very cheap and disrespectful to everyone. The head secretariat always has an attitude toward parents.

Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
There is no follow-up and care for the students. If a child gets hurt or injured , all they do is send the child with pack of ice, not even a not explaining what has happened to him.

Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
There is no honesty in this school. All the school management provide falsified information to the parents. They are always switching stories for their own gain.


Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School 1

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
This school has poor leadership. I have met with my daughter's teacher, principal, and assistant superindendant to discuss issues like; 4th grade class receives no homework and teacher refusing to provide me any update on my child's progress on a regular behavior. The princial scheduled a meeting to discuss these issues. When I arrived for the meeting she did not recall the purpose. Instead, she scheduled the meeting for a completely different topic. Our daughter's teach explained to us that she is busy with her school work in the evenings as she to attends school at Kean & she does not believe the kids will turn in homework assignments. The principal recommended transferring to another class to resolve the issue. In the new class, she was struck by another student. This happended because the new teacher did not escort kids during dismissal. If the principal does not care then why should the teachers. There's so much more to say but I will stop there. Poor leadership leads to poor academics. My child will no longer attend this school.

Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School 1

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
This school is absolutely horrible! My son attended this school. The principal is absolutely disrespectful and should not even be a principal. She is rude and has a terrible attitude. She does not care about students who have any kind of difficulties in school. The school is disorganized and ill-equipped to handle kids that have learning difficulties. The school psychologist is the ONLY person there who is good. He works hard to help families and do right by the students. Thankfully we were able to transfer our son to a better school Children cannot flourish there. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!! Even if you have to homeschool or move to another place, DON'T SEND YOUR CHILD THERE!

Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School 2

Posted July 17, 2014
- a community member
This school suck the security guard are slow and some are mean the teachers are rude and the vice principal mrs valero is rude fix this school pronto


Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 14, 2009
- a parent
This school is one of the worst school my daughter has attend. There is no organization as far as the staff is concerned, and I want my daughter out of that school, so she can get the proper education she deserve.

Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School 3

Posted June 28, 2007
- a parent
This school is o.k. First, the interim principal can be harsh and nasty at times. The vice-principal is nice. They have very good after-school programs! Second, the secretaries are very nasty; even downright rude to many parents. They haven't treated me badly but I have seen how they treat other parents. The secretaries will ignore you when you walk in the office. You have to practically throw up a flare to get their attention. Third, parent involvement is very low. The PTA meetings and workshops are virtually deserted. A huge chunk of the students live in the projects down the street. Fourth, the school does not have an AC (only in the office). Finally, the school is woefully over-crowded. The fourth and fifth grade students have go to the BOE for classes. My son's K teachers were great!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School
501 Union Ave, Elizabeth, NJ  07208
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (908) 436-5535
Last modified Number 23, N.M. Butler Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top