Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5 & Ungraded
Public district
Elmwood Park, NJ
Students enrolled: 358
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gilbert Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted December 24, 2013
- a parent
This is my daughter's first year in school She loves her teacher and is already reading and writing her own stories. She has been having a problem socializing and had an issue with another child but her teacher and other staff took care of her issue right away and are getting my child the help she needs. The teachers are very caring and knowledgeable. Other children in the neighborhood are happy to attend school.

Gilbert Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 18, 2009
- a parent
My daugter was from k to 5 grade there and she did great. All the staff is really professional and helpful. Very good school and atmosphire. My son is going there now since K and we still very happy


Gilbert Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 16, 2008
- a parent
Test Scores over the past three years are down, down, down, while spending on admin is up up up.

Gilbert Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
I have two very intelligent children that go to Gilbert Avenue and the school has been able to meet the challenges that they need. I'm extremely proud of both of my children to accept the challenges that the school has to offer and surpass the schools expectations.

Gilbert Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2008
- a parent
I have two children that attend Gilbert Avenue School, and we love it ! The teachers and staff are wonderful! The school has been updated and looks great! The gym and cafeteria are beautiful! My children could not be happier, and I am extremely grateful!


Gilbert Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2008
- a parent
I have one daughter and one son attending gilbert and they simply love the school! gilbert got a new cafeteria, library,new classrooms,and so on. They are making much more space for the students. And the teachers and staff are wonderful.

Gilbert Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted June 26, 2008
- a parent
As a parent i am not happy with this school. The average class size is about 30, way too many kids for one teacher. Every year the kids that come in are getting harder to control!

Gilbert Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 19, 2007
- a parent
As both a parent and a former student I am very sad with the condition of this school. The classes are overcrowded, there are students that do not even belong in this school, and nothing is being done about it in a timely fashion. Grades as early as first grade have bullies. The teachers are not at fault, they are doing thier very best with what they are given. They receive little if any help from the school itself.


Gilbert Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted August 31, 2005
- a student
As a former student, I think back to all the fun, and opportunities I had at Gilbert Ave. A true neighborhood school, built to last, and hopefully still doing great work for years to come.

Gilbert Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted July 12, 2005
- a parent
I am not very happy with this school district. Many problems. The classes have almost 30 kids to one teacher. Lots of kids who do not speak english are enrolled and the teacher needs to help these children also. Very streched resources.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gilbert Avenue Elementary School
151 Gilbert Avenue, Elmwood Park, NJ  07407
(201) 794-2988
Last modified Gilbert Avenue Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gilbert Avenue Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top