Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Elisabeth Morrow School

Private | PK-8 | 435 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Englewood

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $335,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

Elisabeth Morrow is a fantastic school. Any prospective parent should attend one of the all-school concerts to see how accomplished and poised these students are. The academics are very strong and there is a real culture at the school that values and cultivates old fashioned principles of hard work, inclusiveness and creative achievement. This school is a real gem and the students move on to all the top high schools in the New York and New Jersey area, including Horace Mann, Trinity, Riverdale, etc. As current parents, we could not be happier with the education our kids are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2014

As for the aDD/ADHD kids...YES 100%, the school does NOT know how to handle these kids or boys who act up a bit once the testosterone kicks in. It's a specific place for a specific kind of kid. The school is small and does NOT have the resources to handle everything. Could they be more supportive and pro-active. Again, 100% yes! They fail in this regard. But be forewarned, great place if you have a nerdy obedient kind of kid. AND the kids are 100% respectful and cool. Kids don't like the way the ADD kids get shafted a bit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Good luck if your child has ADD or ADHD. Which make up a large portion of our population. They WILL NOT ACCOMMODATE only ALIENATE or remove you from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

My child has been attending EMS since first grade and will be entering 6th grade this fall. The entire staff is dedicated and caring. Faculty go above and beyond to ensure that every child is challenged and learning to their potential. Everyone is approachable and listens to parental concerns. There is a real sense of community among parents and teachers. The music program is exceptional and serves to enrich the students' academics by providing an additional sense of pride and accomplishment, as the culminating performances are outstanding. Negative reviews are probably written by disgruntled parents whose children couldn't handle the rigorous academic and behavioral demands of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2011

Most students and families are happy with the quality of education and sense of community at our school. I don't think the negative reviews below speak for the majority. Sure, we are not going to please everyone (no school ever does) but the program is sound and school has been effective in placing it's graduates into excellent regional secondary schools. Please visit our placement list: http://www.elisabethmorrow.org/programs/placement/where_our_grads_go/index.aspx If you are looking into schools for your child(ren), and you are considering our school, please contact us and we will do our best to answer your question or address your concern.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2011

i graduated in 2010 and attended EMS since kindergarten. I absolutely love and miss it. All my teachers were incredible and I learned so much. The memories and friends I made will never be forgotten and this school is an miraculous place that I am glad I had the chance to go to.


Posted January 21, 2011

Management think the gist of a "successful" child is to play the violin, sit and bead for three hours or maybe those activities make the day easier for the teachers instead of being actually involved in the childs development. In the younger program they believe the old teachers are the most "experienced". But they have been doing the same thing over and over for 15 years which does not necessarily work for each child. If your child exemplifies any qualities not do not fit the sedate mold of beading or playdoh for extended time, they will stamp out her qualities that she is good at and complain to the parent your child does not sit still at the table. From that point on the kid will have negative emotions projected from teachers and management. Don't be fooled by PR, fake smiles and all the speeches "we are one family" BS. There are tons of private schools in the area that offer a much more intensive academic program without a Principal, who should personally visit the on site gym, hiding behind his outdated degree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

Terrible School. The teachers don't care about you unless your parents are rich. They need new teachers who actually care about all the students. Since teachers here have been at EMS for over 20 years, they tend to not care since they will get paid anyways. Although the arts program is great, the science, math, english, and history needs tons of improvement. EMS is great until 4th grade. After that, the teachers stop caring. 5th to 8th grade was a waste of my life at EMS. I went to EMS for 7 years (entered in 2nd grade) so I know this school inside and out. If you plan on sending your child to EMS, go ahead as it is a great school but BE SURE to pull them out before your child reaches Morrow House or 5th grade. That is when EMS becomes a terrible school.


Posted April 3, 2010

This a gem of a school and we are very pleased that both of our children attend EMS. Although the school primarily draws students from an affluent population we find that the parents are not ostentatious and respect traditonal values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

I am an alumni, and going to this school was the greatest single experience of my entire life. I went there for eight years, and each day I was treated with great respect and the four Cs.


Posted January 22, 2007

my child has been there since the nursery program and is now in the 8th grade. You will not find a better school experience. The teachers are most caring and I feel that my child is better equipped than most kids for high school. If your child is interested in music, you won't find a better program. This school is the real deal and people who run it are very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

The school has a great reputation for academics.The teachers are well-qualified. The class size is small 7:1 in the early years. Left the establishment for a similar, but religious,institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 9%
Two or more races 11% 1%
Black 6% 16%
Hispanic 4% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. David Lowry
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (201) 568-2065

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • The Elisabeth Morrow School is a co-educational country day school for students age three through grade eight. Since 1930, EMS has graduated independent and critical thinkers through a comprehensive art, academic, athletic, music and social education. Located on fourteen acres in Englewood, NJ, EMS has three buildings with four state-of-the-art computer labs, two gymnasiums, three science labs, athletic field, nature trails, working gardens and three playgrounds. Tours are provided by appointment and Open Houses are held throughout the year. Please contact the Admissions Office for more information at 201-568-5566 ext. 7212 or admissions@elisabethmorrow.org.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

435 Lydecker Street
Englewood, NJ 07631
Website: Click here
Phone: (201) 568-5566

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





North Cliff Elementary School
Englewood Cliffs, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT