Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Elisabeth Morrow School 5

Posted December 06, 2014
- a community member
This school is such a great school, caring staff and so much more. This school is for the best of the best, the music and math programs are sensational.

The Elisabeth Morrow School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
The middle school is very rigorous and the math program is excellent with high qualified teachers. Every child should experience such a well-rounded education like the one provided by EMS. I feel blessed that my children are able to attend Elisabeth Morrow School. Great community! Kids are very nice, well behaved with a passion for higher learning. I needed a place for my son to grow intellectually since he is very talented. EMS was a perfect place for him. I could not ask for more.


The Elisabeth Morrow School 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent with three children at Elisabeth Morrow. I strongly dispute the review posted below on October 23, and questions its veracity. There is no funding problem with the art program. There are two dedicated fine arts teachers in addition to the five full-time music teachers. The arts, in general, are the cornerstone of Elisabeth Morrow program. Yes, the work load is rigorous, but the published exmissions (high school placement) indicate that the students are extremely prepared for selective high school options. I do not believe that the below reviewer is a parent or a student. First, there is no "Principal," there is a Head of School. As well, he is well known to be highly accessible and has been at the school for over ten years with an excellent interpersonal reputation. I am all for constructive criticism but the below review seems to be a plant designed to intentionally mislead people about the school.

The Elisabeth Morrow School 1

Posted October 23, 2014
- a community member
The majority of the teachers care very little, the art program is severly underfunded, participation in the music program is mandatory and often used as a measure of each student's worth, the high school counselor who is also the history teacher plays favorites, the principal pays no attention to the student body's concerns and needs, the work load is unreasonable, and the few students who still attend at this point are unruly and disruptive in almost all cases. There are a few good teachers, but most of them have left or been fired at this point. Do not send your child to this school, unless either your child is a straight-A student incapable of feeling stress with incredible talent at the violin or you are fine with having a depressed and resentful student at the end of their time there.

The Elisabeth Morrow School 4

Posted June 01, 2014
- a parent
As for the aDD/ADHD kids...YES 100%, the school does NOT know how to handle these kids or boys who act up a bit once the testosterone kicks in. It's a specific place for a specific kind of kid. The school is small and does NOT have the resources to handle everything. Could they be more supportive and pro-active. Again, 100% yes! They fail in this regard. But be forewarned, great place if you have a nerdy obedient kind of kid. AND the kids are 100% respectful and cool. Kids don't like the way the ADD kids get shafted a bit.


The Elisabeth Morrow School 1

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Good luck if your child has ADD or ADHD. Which make up a large portion of our population. They WILL NOT ACCOMMODATE only ALIENATE or remove you from the school.

The Elisabeth Morrow School 5

Posted June 25, 2011
- a parent
My child has been attending EMS since first grade and will be entering 6th grade this fall. The entire staff is dedicated and caring. Faculty go above and beyond to ensure that every child is challenged and learning to their potential. Everyone is approachable and listens to parental concerns. There is a real sense of community among parents and teachers. The music program is exceptional and serves to enrich the students' academics by providing an additional sense of pride and accomplishment, as the culminating performances are outstanding. Negative reviews are probably written by disgruntled parents whose children couldn't handle the rigorous academic and behavioral demands of the school.

The Elisabeth Morrow School 5

Posted May 28, 2011
- a teacher
Most students and families are happy with the quality of education and sense of community at our school. I don't think the negative reviews below speak for the majority. Sure, we are not going to please everyone (no school ever does) but the program is sound and school has been effective in placing it's graduates into excellent regional secondary schools. Please visit our placement list: http://www.elisabethmorrow.org/programs/placement/where_our_grads_go/index.aspx If you are looking into schools for your child(ren), and you are considering our school, please contact us and we will do our best to answer your question or address your concern.


The Elisabeth Morrow School 5

Posted May 04, 2011
- a community member
i graduated in 2010 and attended EMS since kindergarten. I absolutely love and miss it. All my teachers were incredible and I learned so much. The memories and friends I made will never be forgotten and this school is an miraculous place that I am glad I had the chance to go to.

The Elisabeth Morrow School 1

Posted January 21, 2011
- a parent
Management think the gist of a "successful" child is to play the violin, sit and bead for three hours or maybe those activities make the day easier for the teachers instead of being actually involved in the childs development. In the younger program they believe the old teachers are the most "experienced". But they have been doing the same thing over and over for 15 years which does not necessarily work for each child. If your child exemplifies any qualities not do not fit the sedate mold of beading or playdoh for extended time, they will stamp out her qualities that she is good at and complain to the parent your child does not sit still at the table. From that point on the kid will have negative emotions projected from teachers and management. Don't be fooled by PR, fake smiles and all the speeches "we are one family" BS. There are tons of private schools in the area that offer a much more intensive academic program without a Principal, who should personally visit the on site gym, hiding behind his outdated degree.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Elisabeth Morrow School
435 Lydecker Street, Englewood, NJ  07631
(201) 568-5566
Last modified The Elisabeth Morrow School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Elisabeth Morrow School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top