Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Private
Galloway Township, NJ
Students enrolled: 73

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highland Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
I currently have my daughter enrolled at Highland Academy. I have always felt like I was/am part of the "Highland Family". That is exactly what Highland is, a family like environment. My daughter has excelled academically and always scores well on standardized testing. She is a well rounded student and person. She has blossomed as an actress and singer in their amazing arts program. Issues facing youth today such as peer pressure and bullying have been discussed with our daughter and her classmates by the caring staff, but we are fortunate enough in the small setting to never have experienced it first hand. We are grateful for the positive school experience and could not be happier with our choice to enroll at Highland Academy.

Highland Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
Highland Academy is the perfect school for my daughter. She is a shy student and thrives in the small classroom environment. This school is a small gem in the Galloway community.


Highland Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
We started at Highland last year, transitioning from homeschooling. Our kids adjusted to the school almost immediately. I believe this is partly because they are engaged in stimulating and challenging activities, but also because of the atmosphere that the staff cultivates. Respect and kindness are core values. Students are taught that each person has their own talents and intelligence. I appreciate how open the school is to parents. I drop by or call often to check on my kids, and have never been discouraged. Parents can participate as much or as little as they wish. We had an issue last year that was partly a misunderstanding on my part. The director and teachers met with us right away, and I was really impressed by their sincere concern and desire to do what we needed to resolve it. We have an excellent public school walking distance from our house. But Highland offers something special. Both of our kids are learning to work hard to achieve academic success, and how good it feels to succeed. They're in a respectful, judgement free environment. They are included and valued. We feel that our kids, one of whom is diabetic, are cared for and safe, and that they are blossoming.

Highland Academy 5

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
Our children have attended Highland Academy for the past 3 years. Our main reason for choosing Highland is the academic advantages it offers to our children. The small class size and teacher-student ratio allows students to advance further with their academics. Also the children are free to be themselves without fear of bulling or teasing. I feel that enrolling my children at highland was the best choice for their future.

Highland Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
We were one of the first families in the inaugural school year of Highland Academy. At the time we did not know what we were embarking upon, actually we were in the pre-school program as our daughter was three. However, eight years later we are still here. While there are fine public schools in Galloway, the experience here at Highland has been so great for our daughter's development that we could not change course. The family atmosphere and the cloesness of the student body is a joy to behold. The style of learning which allows the children to go as far as their minds will take them, as opposed to stopping where a curriculum might dictate, is tremendous. Also special is that the school will allow a child to explore diverse and unique interests which might not be afforded or encouraged in a traditional school environment.


Highland Academy 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
Our son has attended Highland Academy for the past five years. Our main reason for choosing Highland is the academic advantages it offers to our son. The small class size and teacher-student ratio allows students to advance further with their academics. For example, our son is reading two grades above his age and doing math problems and learning basic science that would not be offered to him if he were at public school .Students at Highland consistently score well above the average on national testing such as the Iowa exams. In addition to academic excellence, Highland exposes the children to the arts and humanities by visiting the Academy af Natural History and Science, Franklin Institute and the Phila. Art museum each year. In the spring every child participates in a school play. Teachers and staff provide a caring, safe learning environment. Dr. Jeannette Reilly and Dr. David Hall

Highland Academy 0
no rating

Posted November 17, 2008
- a parent
We have had our children enrolled in Highland Academy for the past two years. The school excells in creating a warm and caring environment that fosters academic achievement, the school also engages all the children in art, music, dance, and theater. The teacher/student ratio and class size are great, both of my girls are able to learn at their own pace- children are not bored or overwhelmed a Highland Academy. (Highland Academy is an especially great environment for bright children who would be bored in large classrooms.) The school also has many enrichment trips and activities: theater, museums, etc. and the standardized test scores are excellent! The dedicated staff and family like atmopsphere make Highland Academy an excellent school! If you are searching for a new school Highland Academy deserves consideration! Letitia Nilan & Jason Seelig

Highland Academy 5

Posted November 14, 2008
- a parent
My sons have been in Highland Academy for 5 years and there is no better place for children to learn and grow in our area. Children are traeted with respect and their opinions are valued. Students graduate the school with an ability to rationalize and think through situations as opposed to simply repeating facts. The cyclical mentoring between the younger and older students is a real asset as the younger children are exposed to the behaviors and academic standards they should strive for and the older students are taught patience and compassion as they help the younger students with lesson and at play time.


Highland Academy 5

Posted November 10, 2008
- a parent
Our son is in his third year at Highland Academy and absolutely loves the school. The small class size, individual attention, caring staff and great parents make Highland Academy a true winner. HA students consistently score above average on national tests which is not suprising given the staff's challenging and nurturing approach to instruction. The school does a good job of exposing the children to the arts and humanities in a way that public schools just cannot achieve. All of the children participate in the school's annual spring musical and all students receive instruction in art, music, drama and foreign languages. The dedicated staff do an outstanding job in organizing group activities such as the annual student art show, holiday caroling, school trips and involving the children in charitable endeavors. We highly recommend Highland Academy to any parent who is serious about their child's education. -Cormac Morrissey, P.E., P.P. and Denise Morrissey, Special Education Teacher, PRMS

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Academy
600 E Moss Mill Rd, Galloway Township, NJ  08205
(609) 652-9500
Last modified Highland Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Highland Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top