Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gloucester Catholic High School

Private | 7-12 | 734 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Gloucester City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $99,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2013

My son described a freshman boy crying in the cafetieria because he had accidentally thrown out his retainer. Without prompting the newly elected student council surrounded the boy, determined the problem and then searched the trash and located the retainer! the cafeteria erupted into applause for the boy and his "team". This is the kind of school I wanted for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

Holiday High School is the nickname! It seems everytime you turn around there is a day off or early dismissal......much more than any other school in the area. The academics are on level and expectations clear. They do encourage and offer many activities for the kids. However, the challenge is for kids that are not part of the cliques. Especially in baseball! These kids have been together for years and do not like outsiders. Very uncomfortable and challenging. Also, there is a social climate in the school where these kids are more judgemental of others and not forgiving. They tend to make untrue accusations based on perception.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

We love this school! We transferred our child from public school and are wondering why we did not do it sooner! It is a positvie environment, the teachers make it apparent they love their work and the kids treat one another with respect. The negativity in public school does not exist at GCHS beyond the minimal. Academically, the curriculum is the same but the teachers know how to get results out of the class. It is not a guessing game for the parents as everything is posted on Power School. The school empowers the kids to succeed, which I believe is the overall goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

My grandson goes there and he loves it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

As a former student with siblings who attended GC, I can attest to the fact that GC is an excellent high school. From academics to extracurricular activities to the core values taught, GCHS is far superior to other high schools (both public and private) in the Southern New Jersey area. My years at GC prepared for me college and professional school but most importantly, shaped me into a person with goals and values. I have many friends with family members who attended GCHS as well. They would all agree that Gloucester Catholic is an awesome school. Former GCHS student


Posted January 30, 2008

At GC, they find a way to bring everyone together like a family. I know I enjoyed every minute I spent there. The teachers are all very willing to help you out. I think if GC has one problem it's that it's too leniant.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2008

Glouster Catholic is a very friendly and well oritented school. It welcomes everyone and it makes you feel like you matter. The reason [student] was a failing student here and and passing at a public school is tht this work is chanleenging. honor role in public school is because they teach more advanced stuff.


Posted December 28, 2006

Gloucester Catholic is one of the best high schools out there. It is a great family environment and I recommend this school to anyone who really wants to make high school the best years of their life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2006

Gloucester Catholic High School is probably one of the worst high schools ever. It is very 'cliqued' so that no one can switch cliques once placed into a clique. The students are very academically inept and don't care much about learning but more about themselves and their snobby money.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2006

Great school, wonderful family environment and impressive heritage.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 20, 2004

Im so glad that my parents send me to Gloucester Catholic! This school has been such a blessing to me and has helped me achieve my higher standards of learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2004

If your child is good at baseball than thats the school for you. He or she will get scholarships gallor. Academically the realy smart students suffer. The school is primarially a social event waiting for a party to happen in or outside the classroom. The teachers and students are very clicky and snobby. If your child has learning problems he or she will fall through the cracks and stay at the bottom half of the class academically. This so called 'private school' gets an 'F'. I was a former 'learning problem' student for 9th and 10th grade at GCC. When I went to the public school I was on the Honor Roll all of 11th and 12th grade. PS. I hear from recent students that it hasn't changed much at all since I have been there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 51%
Black 1% 16%
Hispanic 1% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Camden
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

333 Ridgeway Street
Gloucester City, NJ 08030
Phone: (856) 456-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT