Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hackensack Christian Schools

Private | K-12 | 138 students

Our school is best known for our nurturing, family environment.

 
 

Living in Hackensack

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $220,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,500.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2014

I am a graduate of Hackensack Christian School. I went on to a 4-year college and graduated with a B.S. in Pure Mathematics with Honors. I enjoyed my time at HCS very much and I was able to stay involved in the school even after graduating. I now teach at the school and strive to bring excellence to my students every day. The school is not like any other. The spiritual emphasis and academics are an important part of what makes HCS unique.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2013

I wouldn't think to send my daughter anywhere else. I don't know what the previous parent was talking about, but this school doesn't have poor college prep. Many of the alumni have gone to exceptionally good colleges. Even with that, they are very Christ oriented, and have a nice facility. I am very satisfied with this school. The principal is great, she does a lot of Parent and Student Involvement. Their standards are very high. The teachers are excellent, they really do care about the students. There are also Parent-Teacher Fellowship meetings regularly to keep the parents informed on whats going on. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

A real disappointment for a high school education , Poor college prep classes. School need to rebuilt on their higher education curricular programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

This school is awesome, like a real family who cares about the children as though they are theirs. The education is outstanding and the principal herself even tutors the children. 5 stars for truly Christian attributes including the financial department, everyone is awesome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

I am so excited about this next school year. I have been coming here for about 3 years and have looked forward to coming to school each day. This is the first school that I actually enjoy going. I previously have been to 3 other school and they weren't too friendly. This school was friendly immediately. I look forward to going back to school in September.


Posted April 6, 2013

I recently enrolled my child to this school. I have seen many things in the school improve over the past year. In just the one year I have seen that they have brought back volleyball to there sports, and have added a math club. They do fundraisers to raise money for things they need. My child is friends with everyone in his class and gets the correct amount of help he needs at school. His teacher helps him if he needs help and goes to see her after school if needed. I recently went to an open house there and the principal talked about how she wants to make the classes more challenging. They would advance the math course by one year and make strengthen the english course by using literature and writing. I highly consider keeping my child here until he graduates high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

I love this school! The teaching staff are wonderful and very committed to educating these wonderful children.The children are so well-behaved and have such a happy attitude. I wish that I had gone to this school when I was a child. I'm glad that my son goes to Hackensack Christian School. The education that he is receiving is superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

All my children go to this school. They are involved in sports and the school also offers affordable music lessons on many instruments. Children are well behaved and the school tuition is one of the most affordable in this county. Very diverse school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

We love how everyone truly " cares " ! You can tell it's not just a job for the teachers , it's more than a school for the kids... it's a way of life ! Teaching good values,skills and respect. It's fun for the kids! they truly enjoy the learning and friendships formed here !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Graduates are well prepared for college and to go out into society. Good teachers and high academic standards. Students are held to a high level of accountability. Strong Christian emphasis throughout all programs. Big enough to allow some good extra curriculars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

I sent my child here for a year and my son hated it and so did i but i was always afraid of the public school, but now since i put my child in a public school they are more involved in the community. Also i realized that the previous principal was much better than the former one. Also this school has not much diversity to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

Well i went to this school for 8 years and when i was younger i liked it, but as i got older they made more rules, and certain leaders in the school were harsh. This school has NO! extra-curricular courses to get into a better college. If you happen to do certain things wrong your in big trouble cause they have a rule for that. School has had a few problems with pests!!!! Other than that the school is OK!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2007

I presently have a 7th and a 9th grader attending Hackensack Christian School. Not only do my children love the school but I do too. We were immediately adopted into the family and I feel that the staff not only educates your child but comes along side of the parents)as a co-labor in training the children. Parental involvement is high because the people, staff and parents, foster an environment where you want to be involved. I am an educator in a public school and I know that the public schools have a lot of academic and extra curricular programs that they offer; however,they do not offer the kind of approach to training and develoing the children needed to be the best people they can be. My children initially attended a different Christian School but this school is truely a gift from God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

Great Christian education with great atmosphered. Students are very united with each other, and have very caring teachers. I graduated from there, and I still feel like I am part of the Hackensack Christian School family. Great experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2005

I am a graduate, and my children now attend, HCS understands the importance of receiving a quality education with a Godly perspective. The Christian friendships that develop with peers and staff will last a lifetime. What a great way to educate your Christian young person, and prepare them for the world, both academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

My son is in elementary school, and I was a little concerned about his academic progress from last year. However, I have felt much better since the change of curriculum this year. It seems that Hackensack Christian School is picking up the pace academically, without leaving any of the Biblical teachings behind. The extra-curricular activities are rather light, but I believe that is to be expected in a smaller private school. Also, as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. You can call me a right-wing radical. Lastly, I would be honored if God called my son to be a pastor. If you want your children to learn about the Bible, and follow Christ, then this school is a great place for them to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

Teachers that care. Teaching that is based on our Creator God. If you want your child to grow in a 'Christian Environment' and learn why they are here on this planet, then I highly encourage this school. Education is their top priority. And of course your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

Completely misguided system of student discipline, most subject matter taught in a rote style that emphasizes nothing but complete conformity to right-wing fundamentalist dogma. Woefully lacking in any sort of art curriculum. Equally laughable sports program. Terrible investment for a private school. Do not send your children here unless your intention is to make them into pastors or pastors' wives.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 9, 2004

Great Christian education in a loving safe environment. I do not know of any school that does not have any down falls. You will make of it what you/I as parents put into the school and most important at home. Home instruction is key! This school encourages parents to be involved with their child/s education. My children love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Great extra-curricular activities for a school this size. It was a great time in my life. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 41% 22%
White 24% 51%
Black 22% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Linda Horn
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • http://hcsinfo.org/admissions/admissions
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Conklin Place
Hackensack, NJ 07601
Website: Click here
Phone: (201) 487-7212

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Middle School
Hackensack, NJ


Kings Kids Academy
Hackensack, NJ



Hackensack High School
Hackensack, NJ


Bergen Academies
Hackensack, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT