Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary's School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hackettstown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $257,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,155.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2009

The school supports both the academic and moral development of it's students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 22, 2009

It's a super school with a super staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

I love that my children are getting a first-rate education that includes the teachings of the Lord. The morals and values instilled at home are reinforced at school. St. Mary's is a part of our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Great for academics, fosters family values, and love of God and country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

St. Mary's School is AWESOME!! It's been an important part of my life for many years! My daughters graduated fromSt. Mary's, I taught there, and next year my grandsons will attend!! Faith, strong academics, caring faculty and staff, family... St. Mary's has it all!!


Posted October 19, 2009

We love St. Mary's for its small class sizes and warm friendly teachers. Mrs. Walsh, the principal, really loves the kids too and wants them to achieve their personal bestl
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

The structure, instruction and atmosphere is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Small class size Long class hours Family/community orientated Friendly/Warm staffs Church out the doorstep and more...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My kids couldn't have had better knowledge about our Lord Jesus Christ in any other place. The academic education prepared them very well. I love St Mary's School!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I am a proud grandmother whose grand children are receiving a great education. They love your school and you have instilled the love of learning in their hearts and that God loves them all.


Posted October 14, 2009

Strong spirituality, close family environment, excellent teachers and curriculum!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

My child learns so much. My child also learns so much about God and what he has done for us. St. Mary's is a great school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

St. Mary's is one of those small school wonders. It provides not only great learning for our daughter but quite a bit more. St.Mary's provides an ethical, caring environment, that holds to American ideals and we see how nicely our daughter has taken to it. My daughter is a mixed race child and at St. Mary's she is taught and loved for who she is without a scintilla of prejudice or notice. Perhaps I should note that we are not Catholic but have found that to be irrelevant for our child. St. Mary's teaches by example and I believe that it is the kind of school that is indeed an example to follow. We love the choice we made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

Our girls are very happy here and feel safe in this enviroment. The education is the best and we love the family enviroment that the school has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

I love the family atmosphere, the values and morals being upheld....The great academic start
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

The children are provided with an excellent education. The classes and programs are well structure. In addition, the school provides good social activities.


Posted October 8, 2009

St Mary's school has the mos friendly, helpful and carinf administrative staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

St. Mary's creates a great sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

St. Mary's is a great school. The teachers, staff and families all care about the students. Children receive a great education in an atmosphere filled with faith, morals and discipline. It's truly a great foundation for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

St. Mary's - Hackettstown is a great enviornment for my children. St. Mary's has loving, caring, helpful , compassionate teachers and staff. The academics are high and children are encouraged to succeed
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 51%
Two or more races 10% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 9%
Hispanic 6% 22%
Black 3% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (908) 852-4180

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Metuchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

159 Liberty Street
Hackettstown, NJ 07840
Phone: (908) 852-4791

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT