Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pace Cs Of Hamilton

Charter | K-3 & ungraded

We are best known for strong academic programs.

 
 

Living in Hamilton Twp

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $176,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

Pace Charter School is an amazing school to start off with. Each curriculum is introduced to the children with genuine care and compassion. The teacher's at Pace Charter school make sure no child is left behind. When a child shows difficulty in a subject they make sure that by the end of that particular subject the child is fully capable of explaining what was taught. When difficulty is shown the child is taught the same subject in a different manner by another teacher within the school to ensure the lesson is learned and questions are answered on a one on one basis because lets face it, a lot of children are embarrassed to ask questions during the middle of a lesson, all children are different and their learning techniques are all different and Pace Charter school is willing to take the time to try multiple ways of teaching our children. Pace Charter School CARES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

my oldest child went to this school and we she transfered to a different district in a different state they thoght she would be a little behind but she was more advanced then teh other children. she had better work ethics, morals and appreciation to help other kids learn and grow. I love this school and the curriculum i would recommend to any one in the area it is EXCELLENT!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Pace Charter School was the best thing that could have happened to my son. My son has learned so much just within his first few months of school, all thanks to the dedication of each and every teacher. The teachers care about each of their students and it really shows. Pace makes sure that, "NO child is left behind" and they mean it. Teachers at Pace deserve a big thumbs up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

I have a Kindergartener and First Grader attending Pace. I absolutely love this school. The founder and lead person, Debbie, also founded Little Kids College which is the preschool both my kids attended. Moving on to Pace is one of the best decisions made for my family. The small atmosphere is great for my girls who are a little shy and they are familiar with some of the staff whom they initially met through LKC. I love the fact that the all the staff and teachers recognize and associate with all the parents and students. The new principal, Ms. Cincotta, is wonderful and has adapted well to Pace culture. The reading program is wonderful and the kids are reading within the first half of their kindergarten year. Pace also has a calendar full lineup of evening educational and fun activities throughout the year which allows for great parent/teacher/student interaction. There is also so much parent involvement they had to start hosting the events at Robert Wood Johnson Center to have more space. We just moved to Hamilton and my husband and I have decided to keep our girls at Pace through 3rd grade and possibly longer if Pace were to expand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

Our daughter is in 1st grade at Pace. When she entered kindergarten there she had poor letter recognition and by. Christmas in kindergarten she had begun to read! The small classroom size (this yr 14 students in her class) gives the teachers an opportunity to really get to know & work with your child to improve and grow. We have also found the staff to be very kind & loving towards the students creating an atmosphere that makes children feel cared about & appreciated. They take emphasis on building character as well. Teaching children about being trustworthy honest & helpful towards others. They often reward exceptional students and those that show additional effort, allowing them to standout & accept praise for a job well done, which I find refreshing in a society which trend seems to be to award all children 'everyone gets a trophy', until they enter the real world and find out that couldn't be more untrue! I only wish that the school would move & expand. It is currently located next to a bar, the playground leaves much to be desired, as it's nothing more then a parking lot with a play structure . They fact that the school only goes up to 3rd grade is disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

My son is entering the second grade at Pace and I am very grateful for the education he is getting there. His teachers thus far have approached learning on an individual basis and make allowances for each child's learning style. Please keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

This is a fantanstic school. My child is in kindergarten and has excelled due to the wonderful teachers. The teachers are really dedicated to teaching every child. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

Pace Charter School is a dream come true. The small class sizes, individual teacher attention and challenging academic opportunities provide a wonderful learning atmosphere for my child. I have three other children who attended the local public schools and I must honestly admit that Pace Charter School was the school that is best preparing my youngest child for the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

Pace Charter School is truly a hidden treasure for parents. The school atmosphere is that of a private school even though it is a public school. The environment between staff and families is one of commitment. My children love pace as they find the learning fun and the teachers nice . I like that the program offers a rigorous academic curriculum and that the teachers support my child s learning and academic growth through the use of a variety of teaching tools. The small class size really appeals to me as a parent. Thank you Ms. Pontoriero for your vision of a wonderful learning institution for the children of Mercer County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

My child has attended Pace Charter for 3 years and he has enjoyed every minute of it. The teachers are very involved with the students' academic activities and their teaching methods are very beneficial. Just as the other parent mentioned, my son was always eager to complete his homework. If we had the chance to stay another year we would. However, the school only goes up to the 3rd grade. Overall, Pace Charter School is an excellent school and I would recommend it to any parent that has a child going into grades K-3. Prayerfully, the school will enlarge and add more grades!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

I love the Pace Charter School. My daughter has gotten so much more confidence in her abilities over the past two school years. She loves her teacher and actually enjoys doing homework. She is a strong student and I attribute that to the small class sizes, (less than 15 in her class!)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students88%
Female93%
Male83%
Black87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant88%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 55% 16%
Hispanic 41% 22%
White 4% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 43%N/A51%
Female 57%N/A49%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Exemplary School Award
  • A Hamilton Shining Star Award
  • Resolution from the Senate and General Assembly

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Debbie Pontoriero
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (609) 587-8483

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Pace Charter School has a strong family and community connection. The school provides family and community activities outside of school hours on a regular basis.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1949 Hamilton Ave
Hamilton Twp, NJ 08619
Website: Click here
Phone: (609) 587-2288

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Trenton Catholic Upper School
Hamilton Township, NJ





Newgrange School
Trenton, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT