Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-3 & Ungraded
Public
Harrison, NJ

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School 3

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
I would have gave a better review if this was for the teacher only who is amazing my daughter loves her and her assistant. The classrooms are hot no air conditioner when its a 100 degrees the principles office gets upset if your child stays home. There is no recess no talking watch tv during lunch not the teachers fault at all. Also the principles office staff are rude need some classes on how to deal with the public no manners what so ever. Good luck getting a phone call back when you call and leave a message for the principle. Today was fun day how fun is it sitting in a hot park when they could have picked a park with water that the children could cool off.If for some reason the water park was not a good idea neither was the hot stifling park.

Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My school is great my son loves to go to school and he has loved all his teachers never had an issue with anyone n the school


Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School 1

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
NO RECESS POLICE + SILENCE LUNCH = JAIL Do you wan't your kids to develop social skills? Recess contributes significantly to the physical, social, emotional, and cognitive (intellectual) development of the young child. Recess is one of the few places and times during the day when all these developmental domains are utilized in a context that children view as meaningful. Social Development:A wide range of social competencies - cooperation, sharing, language, conflict resolution - can be actively practiced, interpreted, and learned in a meaningful context during recess. Through active, free play and peer interaction, children can: develop a respect for rules, gain self-discipline, and construct an appreciation for other people's cultures and beliefs. Emotional Development: Recess may act as an outlet for reducing anxiety and serve as a means by which children learn to manage stress and gain self-control. During recess play, children also learn the art of expressing themselves to others, and begin rehearsing behaviors and practicing skills. Children learn about their own abilities, perseverance, self-direction, responsibility, and self-acceptance.

Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School 1

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
Children DO NOT HAVE RECESS. Whenever they have any free time they sit in front of the TV. How can parents control this sedentary behavior? Yes there are people who grew up in town and who know all the adequate connections to get their children in the "right classes". Not all people have that "advantage". The PTA is a joke. My husband and I believe in raising our children the "right way" at home. I do believe people "expect too much from teachers". I actually believe the current Harrison population does not have a "voice" in town.

Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
Lincoln School is extremely over crowded. The classroom sizes have grown over the past few years & sadly the school has not! I am not happy with the students being confined to the same classroom for their specials such as art & music; not to mention they eat lunch in the classroom also. The gym being shared with another class that is having gym at the same time. Library? Whats school does not have a library? How productive can this be for these students & teachers? I believe there are great teachers in this school! Its just too packed. Something should be done about this situation!


Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School 3

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
This school is good especially Principal Mrs.Bosch and Vice Principal Mr.O are very cooperative and willing to work with u sadly same cannot be said about the teachers. The teachers here don't teach anything out side of the box, they rush through curriculum without making sure children understands it . They don't have any extracurricular activities and enrichment program is also not very good.

Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School 4

Posted January 02, 2007
- a parent
This is my daughters 3rd year at Lincoln. Vice Principal (Mr. O) is terrific - stern but fair. Most of the teachers are top quality (Mrs. Natalini - 2nd grade - is nothing short of incredible). The children for the most part are well behaved and try hard. Very culturally diverse school - which we prefer. There are no extracurricular activities that work around working parents schedules - which unfortunately leaves my daughter with nothing but Girl Scouts. Overall Lincoln is a good school. I think with an afterschool program and some extracurricular activities that work for the 'real world' that have the potential to be great.


Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School 3

Posted May 18, 2006
- a parent
The school is pretty good but I do not see them being ready and willing to accomodate children with disabilities without the child's parents being present which defeats the purpose.

Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School 4

Posted September 04, 2003
- a parent
This school has progressed quite well over the past few years. They have hired new and innovative teachers and have made great strides in their instructional techniques.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School
221 Cross Street, Harrison, NJ  07029
(201) 483-6400
Last modified Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School is a Public school
Lincoln No. 3 Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top