Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Raritan High School 1

Posted April 08, 2014
- a community member
This school was a joke, and still continues to be one. I graduated from it in 2012. All everyone wants to do is fight each other, the teachers see bullying going on and they do absolutely nothing about it, yet they say that they are so strict with bullying. My younger brother goes to school here now, and our house is currently up for sale because we do not want my younger sister ever stepping foot in Raritan high. Hazlet is turning into a low life town, never send your children here.

Raritan High School 1

Posted March 15, 2012
- a parent
Terrible school, terrible staff, terrible learning environment. I will not be sending my second child to this school due to the lack of good judgment on the administration's part.


Raritan High School 4

Posted February 12, 2010
- a parent
Recently graduated one with special needs who got into a NJ University; still have one in the high school. Found their guidance counselor to be wonderful. Drama and Sports superior. Help is there if needed. Most teachers are helpful, a few older ones are not and should not be there but they have tenure.

Raritan High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
We love Raritan! They have a very good special ed program!

Raritan High School 4

Posted July 24, 2007
- a student
i'm a student at rhs and i just love love love the staff. but there is one little issue that i absolutely can not stand. rhs needs central air! starting in late may/early june when the hot temperatures start to kick in, we students, and some teachers, begin to 'suffer.' the only places in that building that have air conditioning are the main offices, media center, auiditorium, weight room, and board of ed offices. fans just wont do the job!


Raritan High School 2

Posted December 12, 2006
- a parent
I think discipline is not taken serious in this school. Quite frankly we are not even in the top 50 schools whereas academics are concerned. a little less focus on sports and a little more on school would be great. I agree with the teachers losing patience - and some homework and home would not hurt either - free periods -let's be real. The faculty has to realize they are not there to be the children's friends but rather their teachers.

Raritan High School 5

Posted December 02, 2005
- a parent
Great school, good academics. Just finished putting two daughters through the Hazlet School System and it was a good experience.

Raritan High School 3

Posted February 14, 2005
- a parent
Although my daughter was enrolled in honors and advanced placement courses I found the teaching of math to be weak. Most high math students are intelligent enough to overcome the teachers shortcomings. Athletics personel are too influenced by outside opinion and unprofessional in dealing with parents and students. when brought to the principals attention she is very unresponsive.


Raritan High School 4

Posted September 04, 2003
- a parent
I think Raritan HS officials need to take a look at 'some' of the teachers 'success' with their students. My son was in an algebra class last year where most of the children were failing. We got a tutor for our son, and the tutor asked us which teacher he had. When we told her, she had made a comment that she knew of the teacher, and mentioned many of the students she was tutoring, were from that same class. We also had a problem with a couple of the other teachers...apparently, 'some' of the teachers have an anger management problem! Unfortunately, my son did not bring any of this to my attention until school let out for the summer. I will be keeping a closer eye on things this year, and have expressed to my son that he should report problems like this to either the principal, guidance or myself.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Raritan High School
419 Middle Road, Hazlet, NJ  07730
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (732) 264-8411
Last modified Raritan High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top