Advertisement
Advertisement

Center School

Private | 1-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Highland Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $343,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,500.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2009

I started attending the Center School back in my freshman year of Highschool off a B average from another private school that could no longer accomadate me. Now in my senior year I am a member of my district's National Honor Society and have a happy social circle. It's a home away from home for me where I can always find support if I need it for what ever reason. A family. I owe it so much as I go away to college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

I have been in Center School for 4 years now and am graduating this year. Center has helped me overcome my anxiety and depression. The staff only want whats best and are willing to help you with what ever you need. Extra help is always offered. Center School is an all around great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2007

I went to Center School for four years. I can honestly say that if it weren't for that school I would be severely worse off. The staff is generally very understanding of the needs of students. The program is alright, the building is old. The things that make Center an amazing place are the teachers and the kids. I love this place. -Amber Luning
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 20, 2006

Center School has done a very good job with my daughter. She has been there for three years, the very difficult middle-school years, and has done well, bringing her math and reading levels up to wear they should be. It took a lot of effort on the part of her teachers to do this, and it took a lot of effort on her part. Her teachers were very encouraging and supportive throughout the entire process. The 'reward' system that exists at Center was also very beneficial for my daughter, though as the children got older in the middle school, it seems to have less impact and even promote some jealousy between those that don't succeed with it and those that do. My only wish for Center is that there is more control relative to busing (which really Center can't actually do anything about anyway). It's a really good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

Our son entered Center School as a second grader. He was in crisis-a very bright child who was very fragile. The caring community and gifted teachers have given us our son back. He is learning and growing as a person. He is learning to play the guitar and his self confidence is amazing. He is developing freindships that are meaningful. Most of all he enjoys learning again -this is a child who hated school by the time he was 8yrs old. He loves Center School and so do we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

I am not happy with Center School. The teacher is not st all what i expected from a special education school. She is very strict and cold. The behavior plans they have there are similar to public school and they do not implement the Lee Cantor Assertive Education Program like most special ed schools do. They suspend kids instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

I am a former student of this school. I found this school to be an iatrical part of my current and future success. The teachers show patience beyond human comprehension. I found the education to be top notch yet individualized enough that each student gets the direct education they need to succeed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 26, 2005

I attended this school for six years. It was the best thing that ever happened to me. I had the great honor of being a student of Susan Seigle. She was like a mother to me. I had wonderful experinces there. I went in a scared little girl, and came out a well rounded young woman. I owe a lot to the Center School, and their staff of councelors and teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAPSEC
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

319 N 3rd Ave
Highland Park, NJ 08904
Phone: (732) 249-3355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bartle Elementary School
Highland Park, NJ


Irving Primary School
Highland Park, NJ




Roosevelt Elementary School
New Brunswick, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT