Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Norton Rogers School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 700 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2013

A very good school, we have been very happy with most of the teachers our kid has had so far. I especially like their reading program. Our daughter is an avid reader in part because of the different programs this school has to encourage reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

Very good school for elementary. Should improve use of technology and make it more frequent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

Excellent school. Both of my kids attended this school and they have fond memories of it. Teachers and Principal worked well together and were excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

Our daughter really loves this school,loves her teachers does well and has many friends.This is her fourth year in this school and up untill now we have been very happy.There was an issue with our child and another and school didnt tell us our child did.We made an arrangement with the school to resolve the situation and it wasnt followed by the other parent and the principal hasnt returned any of or calls our emails which is disappointing.The office staff is always helpful and pleasant the nurse is excellent and the PTO is organized and friendly but we will be taking our children to a new school next year because the situation between the children was handled poorly in our opinion which again, is disappointing because our child will be very unhappy to leave friends and teachers behind .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Most of the teachers are kind but there are some very abrasive ones so be careful. Office staff is completely rude and unhelpful. School nurse is fabulous! Principal is not approachable to parents. PTO consists of a few select moms who won't allow newcomers into their clique.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My child is very happy attending GNR. I feel the staff and teachers are very professional and overall very caring. I am extremely happy that my child feels comfortable speaking with Mr. Dias, I remember as a child, I was afraid of the superiors. GNR also has zero tolerance for bullying. My daughter had an issue with another child and it was handled immediately. This school is wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Excellent school. Teachers are for the most part very into their work and dedicated employees who care a lot for the kids. My son's 3rd and 4th Grade teachers were just outstanding. Principal is very professional and puts 100% into his job which he takes very seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

We love this school. The principal and Admin. staff including the teachers are very warm, friendly and caring. My son loves it here and feels safe to go to Mr. Dias if he has a problem. Mr. Dias is more than fair. He loves Mrs. Gilbert and Mrs. Rodriguez in the Main Office. Thank you teachers also for all you do for the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

The school is just horrible. Teachers are rude in common. Program is weak and boring, children are not motivated and any creativity is restricted. Teachers care only about discipline and walking in line through halls. Kids concerts are poorly prepared, without any at least simple decorations. The main office stuff is extremely unfriendly. Principal often raise voice with parents. So think twice before you go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

The school is horrible and the principal is distant, aloof and ineffective. Our children found their teachers to be rigid and intolerant and severe. Not a nurturing environment for children at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

This school is superior to any other school in the area state. I Have recently moved out of the area. I was able to compare this great school to our current school. I would recommend it for all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

My child was miserable while attending this school. The atmosphere was not nurturing, only frustrating for our child and us as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2005

I have had the pleasure of having my children educated by the teachers of GNR over the past 8 years. Children thrive at GNR due to the dedication and competency of all it's teachers! They go above and beyond the basic curriculum to make learning fun for their students. The parent group is also very active in supporting the education of the students. (You cannot judge an entire school based on the child study team, who probably work with less than 10% of the students.) If more parents took an active role in their children's education, they would see what a great school GNR really is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2004

I am recommend a visit to the school. Sit with the teachers and the principal. If he has time for you. I found him to be rude, non caring about students and parents. Not a people person at all. With a change of school administrator the school moral will increase a great deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

I am in total disagreement with the other reviewers. I have had nothing but positive experiences with both the child study team and my child's teachers. I feel the curriculum is appropriate, the staff and teachers are most caring and take great interest in my child's progress. The child study team has been compassionate, informative, helpful and efficient. We have been very satisified overall and also feel more good is yet to come with our new superintendent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2004

Unfortunately, my experience with GNR School echoes the other reviewer. I found the Child study team rude, uncaring and condescending toward me, let alone how I imagine they treat the children. My child is no longer recieving special services and any additional tutoring or help my child may need in the future will be sought privately and not through the school resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

My daughter attended this school for her first two years of school. I found the administration at the time as well as the teachers, and counselors and child study team to all be impatient, non-nurturing, and self important. My daughter's time at this school was difficult at best. It was the attempt of just about everyone at this school to label my daughter a problem. I only wish that at the time we could have afforded a private school. Sorry but this has been my experience and the way I see it. Since we moved out of the area my daughter has absolutely flourished in every way both academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students67%
Female72%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education67%
General education79%
English language learners29%
Not migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students71%
Female70%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education67%
General education90%
English language learners18%
Not migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students67%
Female73%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Hispanic44%
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education31%
General education79%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Hispanic70%
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education54%
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education85%
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former91%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students67%
Female60%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
White83%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education46%
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant78%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 22%
White 38% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 9%
Black 7% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Gayle Parker

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

380 Stockton St
Hightstown, NJ 08520
Phone: (609) 443-7833

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT