Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvin Coolidge Elementary School

Public | 2 | 199 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

My son moved up to Calvin Coolidge from A.P. Morris. CC's teachers are wonderful. There is a great sense of camaraderie. It is an older school and comping from A.P. Morris I do wish they could renovate it. My only issue seems to be the very brusque attitude of the woman who runs the cafeteria. She could use some training in dealing with young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

I am a 6th graduate of Calvin Coolidge and I am VERY proud of it. The teachers are very understanding and care for all of their students. It is the best school in all of Hillside. Small classes are key to a great education and Calvin Coolidge has that. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL!!!! Years have past and now my child goes to the school and the leadership is still great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

Calvin Coolidge has offered an excellent well-rounded learning experience. I believe that this school has teachers that enjoy what they do and are extremely effective in teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

My child as went to this school every senes the thrid. The are wonderful and smart
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

Calvin Coolidge is the top school in the townshipp of Hillside NJ. The care & dedication of the teachers are top notch. It is a direct representation of the principal and her admiistation. I am very proud of the achievment & education that my child has received. She is a 5th grade student who is taking geometry and Alegerbra. Reading & comprehension are also a big focus in this school. I could not be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

I think the teachers are doing a great job. We need more parents involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

I think the teachers are doing a great job. We need more parents to be involve with kids education . As far as the school bathroom and updates you can say thank you to our Major and our board officials. Parents must get involve with schools and kids .....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Calvin Coolidge needs some help. My child has attended the school for the last two years. He is doing okay however, I feel that the principal needs to get more involved with the students, I don't feel that she relates to them well. In addition, I think the school is small, needs updates and needs funding to rebuild. If I had my choice I would not send my child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2005

This school is a hot mess. The bathrooms look like a horse's stable. During my stay at Calvin Coolidge I probably only used the bathroom once only because I really had to go. The town is wasting money and refuses to fix these problems and others. The teachers did do a good job in the poor conditions that were given to them.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 68% 16%
Hispanic 25% 22%
White 7% 52%
Asian 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Sharon Festante

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

614 Tillman St
Hillside, NJ 07205
Phone: (908) 352-7664

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT