Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walter O. Krumbiegel Elementary School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 659 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2014

WOK has really changed. I am about to be a freshman and I have to say, I loved it. Mr. Platt does not play, he is nothing like the former principle. 8th graders had social, waterpark, and an icecream party, we also got to graduate on the field which was really fun. The only problem about the school is the 7th graders. They are really bad, act like they live in Newark and not Hillside. Other then that, I love WOK. An applauding hand to Mr. Platt for all the effort he has put in to make WOK change from good to great. Class of 2014, we out.


Posted June 27, 2013

I go to this school currently. There is toooooo much DRAMA and IMMATURE students there. The teachers are great but the majority of the kids doesnt really care about education. There is always fight like every week. I wouldnt advise anyone to go to this school.


Posted May 13, 2013

My school is kinda of bad because first the lunch is raw and that could get students sick. Second, there are alot of bullying occurring in the hallways,at recess,everywhere at this school and now the teachers tell their students to shut up and now the teachers say crap. Also if you get to class at least 2 minutes late you automatically get a central detention. If you don't go to that you get Saturday detention and if you don't go to that you get suspended. My school is very strict and very confusing, its very hard to concentrate on my school work when people are screaming and acting like they are tough around there friends.Honestly, I feel bad for the teachers they have to deal with this nonsense.


Posted April 17, 2010

They have the best assistant girl's basketball coach there is!


Posted September 7, 2007

this school was wonderfull for all 3 of my kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

I moved to Hillside in 2004. My oldest attended WOK for two years and was very happy. This past year I noticed a great improvement in the overall administration of the school and was very glad to see increase in parent participation. The students seem to be more involved & happy. I applaud Mr. Dickerson & his staff for the wonderful environment they continue to provide for our children. He's done a great job in turning the school around and his personal involvement with the parents is priceless. Thank you all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

My experince at W.O.K was a good one. My teachers were wonderful and I learned a lot. Maybe the school isn't in it's best condition but the students have so much spirt and unity. At least when I was there two years ago that's how it was. It isn't the greatest but the people in it makes it the best!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 19, 2004

W.O.K. is one of the worst schools in Hillside besides the High School. The township allows kids from other districts such as Newark, Irvington, Elizabeth, and East Orange to use a family or close friends address and register their kids. This is bringing the school system down completely. I am looking to sell my home and move were I can see my tax paying dollars work. I am sick of this nonsense. Eventually Hillside will be labeled just like Newark! A mess!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

I give W.O.K a grade 1. The principal's leadership get a 3. The principal's leadership establish high expectations for academics and behavior, and does everything possible to attract, develop and support teachers. The condition of the school is run down paint chipping is falling off the walls in the auditorium. Books are to be shared among students. Ditto sheets are taken home for homework because of few books. Its ashame the students of WOK have to be subject to such environment surroundings. Its unsafe because classroom doors are practically falling off its hinges. I don't understand how teachers can teach and the children can learn. Hillside taxes are not working for the school. Overall quality 'low'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students45%
Female50%
Male41%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Special educationn/a
General education50%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant45%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students72%
Female80%
Male66%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
General education81%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant72%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students52%
Female63%
Male41%
Black51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
White67%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Special educationn/a
General education56%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant52%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students53%
Female56%
Male50%
Black52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
White65%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Special education29%
General education57%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant53%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former33%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students74%
Female84%
Male63%
Black72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education36%
General education79%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant74%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students63%
Female66%
Male61%
Black62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
General education70%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students65%
Female72%
Male59%
Black66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education18%
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant65%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 70% 16%
Hispanic 20% 22%
White 9% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms April Lowe

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

145 Hillside Ave
Hillside, NJ 07205
Phone: (908) 352-7664

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT