Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Abram P. Morris-Saybrook Elementary School

Public | PK-1 & ungraded | 39 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, September 19, 2014

Love the teachers...administration needs to improve especially on communication. Parents were lied to that letters were sent for the first time parents but they actually never did. So as a new parent waiting to see the paper work for the requirements, it was annoying making trips to the school to find out what I needed yet the response I got was "we sent the letters last week, just wait" To this date no letters have been received. Please just tell the truth and say we didn't and this is why. We understand instead of lying to the parents. I found it very disorganized during the first day of school. I had to figure out in my own way by asking a collegue at work where to go buy the uniforms since her kids go to Newark schools. Otherwise if I had waited for "the letter" my child would not have had a uniform to go to school. Pease COMMUNICATE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

This school is excellent with kids! My daughter loves her teacher Ms. Jackson. I have not seen anything wrong with the way the handle situations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

Both my children attended this school. My daughter is on her last year here. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the teachers here. My children enjoy school and are sufficiently challenged. The school, is modern and well appointed. They could improve their drop off and pick up procedure but other then that I have not a negative thing to say. They have a great PTA this year that is active and involved. It's a shame that there is no testing at this young a level so the school received a NR rather then what I imagine would be a very positive rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

The teacher are the best they do a lot for the kids, they are academically doing very well. My son has been attending A.P Morris sins his pre-k3 which they now don't offer any more, they still have pre-k4 my son is in kinagarden but as I have attended middle school and high school in hillside I know that I will NOT send my son to this schools after next year the high school is very unorganized some teacher are great but the bored of Ed, principles and conclers are horrible with communication and helping people must not be what they are their for their are teachers that are just their for the pay check but the few that are great don't last long in this school system! A.P Morris has to organize their drop off and dismissal arrangements and the school lacks security one person cant keep an eye on every thing they have great people here just lack a good system to keep it all to gather, but middle and high school need way more then that this teachers, secretaries and a few others are going to leave and then this schools are lift with nothing. I would stay but this town needs to work on a lot of things not just the schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

2 years into this school and I have found it to be a great experience. I'm a teacher and my son is progressing well beyond and they keep him actively involved in learning more and more. PTA involvement is growing and they even have their own facebook page. It's a great first time experience into school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

My child has been in this school since 2010 thru 2012 and I have to say it has been the worst experiece as of yet. So far the teachers have been teaching below the grade level and I feel my child has been set back. Also the teachers do not reach out to the parents and keep them involved, you have to track the teachers down if you want to find out how your child is doing, and they only have one principal for 3 schools and she is never available as well, I highly feel that the current principal should be replaced, as well as a lot of the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

I had my child in this school for a couple of months and I hated. Two times my 3 year old was walking by her self on dismissal time. I arrived 3 minutes late because there is absolutely no parking available in that street and they just let your child go, no matter if you are there or not. My child has not been there since.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I love that our school has the greatest staff of teachers and principal that cares about our kids THANK U For caring
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

My son started at AP Morris in pre K. They have done an outstanding job. He reads and writes well. He's going to the third grade Sept 09. Wish he could stay at AP Morris. Excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

The school is doing an outstanding job! My son is learning so much. I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

Last year was my son's first year at AP Morris and his first year in a public school period. He entered the first grade reading below grade level and he did not recognize all of his letter sounds. He is required to be at a reading level 16 going into the 2nd grade and when he was tested at the end of first grade, he was already at a level 18. He made tremendous progress because he had a phenomenal first grade teacher who encouraged him in class throughout the year and communicated with me about the different ways I could help my son at home. This is what education is all about, parent and teacher cooperation with the success of the child as the end goal and I love his teacher for that and the school for fostering a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

I am very proud of having my daughter at A.P Morris school. She is in first grade and she has learned more than I expected. She knows how to read histories, solve math problems by herself. Even though she is so little she thinks that her school is the best one because she has well-experienced teachers and they also are her friends willing to help her at any time. I would say that A.P Morris is a school where kids enjoy learning. It also gives equal opportunities to every children, no matter race, language or any economic situation. For A.P Morris kids education is their priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2004

I believe punishment is too harsh for such small people. How do you suspend a kindergarten? Do they really know what a suspension is? Come on. Its the parents who are suspended when they have to leave their jobs and/or take off work to tend to these kiddie problems. Do they have In-school- Suspension?


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 16%
Hispanic 27% 22%
White 11% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Tracey Wolff

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

143 Coe Ave
Hillside, NJ 07205
Phone: (908) 352-7644

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






No 26 Edreira Academy
Elizabeth, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT