Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

All Saints Episcopal Day School

Private | PK-8 | 220 students

 

Living in Hoboken

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $495,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2012

I have been a teacher at All Saints since 2001. I also served on our board and on the committee for our initial accreditation through NJAIS. This experience allowed me to understand just how special independent education is: the influence of our mission statement, the integrity of accredited institutions, and the power of partnership when parents, administrators, teachers, and students all work together for our children. In 2007, our community asked for a middle school. Through hard work, careful planning, and continuous reflection, we have answered that call and now serve grades 5-8 with an exemplary academic, social, and experiential program. I could not be more proud to have been a part of this growth. I now have two young children attending our school. I have the utmost respect for every teacher in our school and know that at every grade level, my children will be taught by people who love the work they do, love their school, and stand by our guiding mission statement. I know that many exciting trips, projects, partnerships, events, and learning opportunities await my son and daughter at every grade level, and I am so grateful to be able to give this gift to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

Sending our daughter to All Saints has been one of the best investments we have made as a family. We are continually impressed by the strong academic curriculum and the excellent music, performance, and visual arts programs. Our daughter is excited to go to school every day and is growing academically, socially, emotionally, and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

We have truly loved this school from the start when our child began nursery school 2 years ago. Now that they are in kindergarten, we can really see how exceptional the curriculum, teachers and staff are to a committed aproach to learning and community. Recently, I attended a symposium created by the Middle School and was utterly blown away by the poise, grace and public speaking abilities of the students presenting. We are looking forward to our child enjoying her elementary education at All Saints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

This is our daughter's second year at All Saints after transferring from another school. We couldn't be happier with our choice. Our daughter has become excited about being at school and looking forward to everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

All Saints is such an amazing school. The teachers are so incredible. And the curriculum is top notch - my mom (a second grade teacher for 30 plus years) cannot believe how many things my own second grader is already doing! Finally, we love the way that appreciation for community and a sense of greater purpose seems entwined in the day-to-day for ADSD students, even in Nursery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

This is our sixth year at All Saints and we couldn't be happier with our experience there! It is a very warm and welcoming community which our girls look forward to going to each day. The teachers and administration listen to individual concerns and maintain a very open dialogue with parents. We believe our children are getting a great and well-rounded foundation of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

The first year our son attended All Saints, I thought it was a great school. The second year, I got a little more involved with the school, and I thought it was a great school with the best pre-k teacher in the whole world. By the third year I was curious about just how All Saints manages to be so special, and spent some time with the Head of School and their Team and I was truly impressed by the care that they, and all of the teachers, take with respect to every aspect of the school, from choosing students, to their plan for measured growth, to the curriculum choices, to encouraging each child individually in a way that touches and inspires that child. All Saints will teach your child how to love learning and achieve every bit of their potential. Even better, at All Saints it's cool to be nice, and to make the world a little bit better. Check out our website - www.allsaintsdayschool.org - and take a tour. You'll be impressed by our school and by our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

We love the opportunities that All Saints provides for the families to come together as a community whether at holiday concerts or back-to-school BBQs -- and we value how the school fosters such a warm environment for the students and families in and outside of the classroom. The "specials" teachers really set All Saints apart; the arts and music teachers have outstanding credentials. The music teacher s background in Kodaly training puts him at the top of the field, and his high expectations and calm demeanor make him a wonderful role model for my son. The dance teacher s classroom management skills are some of the finest I've seen; she uses the movement techniques that the children are learning as tools to learn how to control their bodies in space; dance, in particular, can lead to wild, wriggly children, but she achieves the opposite. We've also had the good fortune to work with the drama enrichment teacher, who seems to have an intuitive sense of what's appropriate for this age group in terms of role playing and free expression. From these classes, our son has grown from a shy incoming student into a joyful, confident boy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

All Saints has been a great fit for my daughter. What sets All Saints a part from other schools is their strong dedication to addressing the individual needs of each student. The class sizes are small and the teachers are excellent. We are extemely satisfied with our daughters progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

This school holds high standards for itself in terms of the staff it employs, the curriculum it follows and the energy and enthusiasm with which it approaches each day. Accordingly the children are encouraged to reach within themselves to bring out their best for themselves, their peers and their community. Children are expected to learn self-discipline in the classroom and outside of it and to be inquisitive about the world around them. The students in the upper grades (my children are still in the lower school) are articulate and well mannered. I'm very proud to have my children educated here and to be part of the All Saints community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Both of my children attend All Saints and my spouse and I can attest that the school continues to exceed our expectations. The quality of staff, curriculum, continuous improvement, as well as our children's enjoyment and self-growth in this environment are constant reminders of our good fortune to be part of All Saints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Both of our children attend All Saints and we are extremely pleased with the education they are receiving. The teaching staff takes a strong interest in the success of each student and is actively involved in helping them meet their goals. The community is very friendly and inviting. We couldn't be happier with our experience at All Saints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I can't believe how lucky we are to have found ASEDS. We are thrilled with the leadership and couldn't be more pleased in the academic progress that our children are demonstrating. Add to that the attentive staff and and their ability to create a nurturing environment and you have a school that fits us perfectly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

All Saints is a great place. My son has flourished here. He started in the Nursery Program and is now in the 2nd grade. The communication by the staff...administrators, teachers and employees is incredible. I can't express enough how grateful and lucky we are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

All Saints provides a great learning environment - there are small classes with teachers dedicated to their students success. Parent involvement is very high and parents and teachers work well together to support learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Our daughter has been at All Saints since 2007 and our son just started his nursery year. All Saints fosters a solid foundation for learning, community and personal growth. My daughter has thrived at All Saints and we expect the same will be true for our son. We are grateful to be a part of such a wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

This is our 4th year at All Saints, and it has been a wonderful experience for our children and our entire family. The educational program top-notch and the school community and environment is warm and nuturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

My daughter has been at All Saints for the last 2 years and we absolutely love it here. This is her first school ever and we are very happy to find the perfect fit for her. This school encourages individuality, curriculum and personal growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

We have been very happy with the education our daughter, now a third grader, has received at All Saints. The curriculum is appropriately challenging and the teaching staff is excellent. The new science lab is especially exciting - as are the individual student laptops and smartboards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

This is my daughters 5th year at All Saints and we couldn't be happier. The atmosphere is warm and encouraging. The staff is very accessible and responsive to both me and my daughter. I give it a glowing recommendation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 51%
Hispanic 15% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 9%
Black 5% 16%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • NJ Non-Public School School Teacher of the Year (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Lexus Eco-challenge (2010)
  • Prudential Community Service Award (2011)

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jill Singleton
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
Fax number
  • (201) 792-1595

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Math club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • SMART Boards in every classroom, lap top computers in middle school, interdisciplinary curriculum, field trips, high school placement program,
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
68
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$9000 - $16000
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

707 Washington St
Hoboken, NJ 07030
Website: Click here
Phone: (201) 792-0736

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Hudson School
Hoboken, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT