Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12 & Ungraded
Public
Hoboken, NJ
Students enrolled: 635

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hoboken High School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
I love everything about hoboken high School. My daughter and i love it a lot!

Hoboken High School 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
Happy at HHS! Some exceptional teachers and guidance counselors, and a principal focused on the right issues makes HHS a truly great school . The mandate of public schools demands they serve all, across the income and performance spectrum. Kids from at-risk homes or with special needs require specialized attention. Likewise, high-achieving students fare best in a challenging environment. Hoboken High meets all these needs (and those in between). Our kids have thrived with AP and Honors classes, intense coursework and engaging teachers. The strength of the (fully funded) arts, sports and extra-curricular programs is also key for us. The school often competes and wins at the state-wide level. The mistaken bad rep view lingers, sadly. Ironic, as student safety and discipline are taken very seriously. Indeed, walk through the hallways of this small school and the culture of togetherness in this diverse student community is obvious. Folks that dismiss Hoboken High because it reflects this urban community or reduce its varied student body to a simple test score are ignoring a great educational option. We have been there for three years now and haven t regretted it once.


Hoboken High School 4

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
Hoboken High School is a gem of a school. Our daughter has benefitted from the small class size and personal attention she gets from her teachers, all of whom are very open to parent involvement. She takes mostly AP and honors classes and the work is rigorous and challenging. And, as she enters her senior year and is zeroing in on college plans, we have appreciated the excellent guidance department, too.

Hoboken High School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a community member
Hoboken High School has consistently gotten a "bad rep" because of low test scores and "inadequate" academic performance, in addition to many unintentional (and/or intentional) racist bias. Yes, many of the students at the school do just get by with the bare minimum and graduate ill-prepared for the world they face today. But Hoboken High School certainly cannot be blamed for this, and to simply skip over all the positives of the school to just focus on and point at the negatives is negligible. I have had the privilege of attending Hoboken High School for what is now three years, and I am thrilled to continue for my last year. The ability to play sports, perform in shows, debate across the country, write for the school's newspaper, interact with students of all different backgrounds and personalities all the while being pushed to take a variety of rigorous AP courses is something that not many high school students get the opportunity to do, and I am thankful that Hoboken High School is one of the only schools in the area that gives me that opportunity. Don't judge a book by its cover. I highly recommend looking into this really great local public school.

Hoboken High School 3

Posted July 16, 2012
- a community member
I had the opportunity to coach Hoboken High School juniors on resume and career preparation and was very happy to see how many students were engaged in their education and actively making plans for their educational future. Unfortunately, reputations fade slowly, and this school does not get its fair share of praise for its programs and students.


Hoboken High School 4

Posted March 28, 2010
- a student
I have to agree with the poster below me, The school is pretty good, small classes, lots of extracurricular activities, most teachers are friendly and help out students, I believe this school gets a bad reputation because most of the students are from the projects..sure there are a lot of fights for a small school but as long as you dont go looking for trouble you wont find any..Most students do take advantage of what the school has to offer but like in any school some dont care and just pass with bare minimum. ..The building is pretty old but in good condition maybe just fix the small problems and definitely redo the bathrooms make them like the new union city school.

Hoboken High School 1

Posted September 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hoboken High School 0
no rating

Posted October 19, 2008
- a parent
Hoboken's best kept secret. It is a small, intimate school where the children enjoy a close relationship with the staff. Great IB program and some nice extra programs.


Hoboken High School 5

Posted August 16, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hoboken High School 4

Posted January 09, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hoboken High School
Ninth & Clinton Sts, Hoboken, NJ  07030
(201) 356-3701
Last modified Hoboken High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hoboken High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top