Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Hopatcong, NJ

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hopatcong High School 4

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
With two kids in high school, we chose to move to Hopatcong from a very highly rated, affluent Essex County town. We haven't regretted the decision for a moment. The school may be smaller, offering less options, but the personal attention my kids receive is invaluable. My kids participate in Football and Track and LOVE their teams. The kids in Hopatcong have been taught from very young to be accepting of those with disabilities, instead of simply shipping them all off to "special schools" where they don't have to interact with them. Hopatcong is educating their kids to be good citizens, good human beings.

Hopatcong High School 2

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
My children are not at this school yet, and will go out of district before they're ever allowed in HHS, unless major changes take place. There are VERY few AP/Honors courses. There are barely any sports programs compared to local districts. The entire freshman sports program was eliminated. There is no field hockey; no volleyball; no ice hockey; no swimming; no lacrosse; no winter/comp cheer; no gymnastics. This school is constantly losing enrollment and while the inside of the school is modern and nice looking, the grounds are a joke. There's one football/track field (no turf), one baseball and one softball field and that's it. Everything else (soccer, tennis) has to be hiked through the woods to the grounds behind the civic center and that facility is awful. There's only one gym and the auditorium is tiny.


Hopatcong High School 1

Posted May 10, 2012
- a parent
HHS is a poor high school. The leadership is disingenuine and self-serving. I know the district well and the people in the high school. The teachers are stifled, Guidance has been a disaster since the departure of a truly student-centered man, and students are not being uplifted. Teachers and students can immediately pick up on administrators who are only out for themselves and it has a tremendous impact upon morale. Even some secretaries are just plain mean and should retire or leave. The principal, vice principal, guidance director, two counselors, a long time guidance secretary and one particular main office secretary should leave. They are bad for the district on multiple levels.

Hopatcong High School 2

Posted February 21, 2012
- a student
I am currently a student at Hopatcong High and I agree with the fact that too much is going into the extra-curricular activities more than the academics. They have been class after class away and it is not fair. There are barely any AP & Honors classes. Many students are horrible and teachers do not seem to do anything about it when they should. It reflects how others see our school, especially when kids are right outside the building smoking.

Hopatcong High School 1

Posted June 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hopatcong High School 3

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
Overall, schools are good. However, I feel that for the # of students in the town, we should have more schools. Agree that school should focus less on the sports extracurricular and more on the academic, e.g. math, science, arts.

Hopatcong High School 0
no rating

Posted November 18, 2008
- a student
I couldn`t disagree more those students that they leave in the classes that are disruptive are a horrible example to the rest of the student body. I rarely saw anyone being told to leave unless obscenities were said or physical contact was involved. I believe not enough people were taken out of the classes. Don`t blame the teachers and the school for your children`s actions no one can change them unless they want to be changed. The only way to do such is to have them see what could be if they keep up their bad behavior.

Hopatcong High School 5

Posted September 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hopatcong High School 1

Posted May 09, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hopatcong High School 5

Posted March 12, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hopatcong High School
2a Windsor Ave, Hopatcong, NJ  07843
(973) 398-8803
Last modified Hopatcong High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hopatcong High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top