Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Veronica School

Private | PK-8 | 330 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Howell

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $271,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

I have both my children attending St. Veronica School. Both of them have been there since Kindergarten. My oldest is now in 8th grade. Both of them have excelled academically and athletically. On the Terra Nova standardized tests my oldest consistently scored on average greater than 95% of all students who took the test year after year. She's been accepted into the John Hopkins Center for Talented Youth program. This is not only because of her; this is from what she's learned at this school. The teachers and administration at St. Veronica's has provided so much support to both my children and has helped us instill an excellent sense of morals, respect and strong religious belief in addition to high academic standards. I highly recommend this school. I'm sorry to see some negative comments about the school. You get what you put into it. We spend time to ensure our children study and communicate with their teachers and we couldn't be any happier with the school and how much they've helped our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

We have two children attending SVS currently and plan to send our third there as well. Both started with pre-school and were well prepared for Kindergarten. The curriculum is definitely competitive with public schools, as we have compared notes. We are very pleased with the sense of community that the school provides. We are a part of a big family and there is a sense of respect for all and a great sense of morals in the children. We have nothing but great things to say about the school and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to send their children to a school that has a great curriculum while reinforcing great morals and respect for others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

I'm a parent of 5. My oldest was enrolled from preschool through 8th grade. 3 others are in the school now (since pre-K) and my youngest will be enrolled next year. My oldest was accepted into an Honors program in the Freehold Regional HS system after graduating from SVS 2 years ago. She is a straight A student in an All Honors program. All my kids have scored "off the charts" in their Terra Nova standardized tests in every grade. The one area of criticism is the 7th and 8th grade math curriculum... which has been addressed this year. In my case, the facts speak for themselves... my children are straight A students, well behaved, well rounded - and most importantly - spiritually rich in their Catholic faith. Isn't that why we pay Catholic school tuition after all? Catholic education is suffering declining enrollment because of the economic downturn. Many no longer have the ability to write the check. I deeply value Catholic education and will do what it takes to pay the bill. That is why SVS asks for donations... enrollment is down and the school is trying to keep tuition affordable. I love this school and I hope my 13 year commitment to it is testimony to that fact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

My daughter is currently attending school at SVS and loves it. I will be sending my other two children to school at SVS also. The teachers are wonderful, encouraging, and great examples for our children. She is getting a great education with christian values!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

I am currently a student at St. Veronica School. I have been going to this school for 11 years now, and I feel like this is my second family. The teachers are so welcoming and will give you a helping hand when needed. The principal and vice principal are truly amazing. The sports teams are so hard-working, and deserve the many first place awards that they have won. Also, the students are like my 500 brothers and sisters that I don't have. I love this school to death and I will cry when I have to leave!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2008

My two kids have attended St. V's since kindergarten- now in middle school. This is a really great school!!! The academics is well known locally to be excellent- including articles featured in local newpapers. They score tops in academic competitions. There are a lot of activities, especially for the middle school students, even though this is a small school- including lots of athletics, socal justice club, dance, etc. Also, there is a sense of community that includes the whole family. We have so many good friends! In addition, when enrollments decreased recently due to recent price increases, parents were proactive and pooled their energy and talents to write grants. We recently won a $25K grant to improve our school library. This has been a great elementary and middle school experience for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

We were looking for a school in the area for our 5 year old. We attended various schools open houses. We were impressed the most by Saint Veronicas. I spoke to many parents who had multiple children in the school and all of them raved about the school. My child attended kindergarten and now is in 1st grade. We are now parents that rave about the school. The teachers/principle are very dedicated, and the teaching is structured and effective. I have noticed my son is acedemically advanced compared to other children in our town. Through this years parents night, we learned about the extensive safety program. They place a strong priority on instilling respect for others and there is a no tolerance policy on bullying. This school has multiple vehicles for raising funding. This is not a concern. I feel my son is getting a well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

Our son is in kindergarten and the curriculum is very diverse. He learns spanish, computers, dance, art, science, social studies, religion, math. Work done in school is sent home for parents to review. Homework is reviewed and signed by parents. The class has several class moms who oversee certain activites including holiday parties and field trips, etc... Kindergarten is all day at this school and is highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

My son has attended for 5 years and enjoys the school very much. My concern is lack of public funding and programs that are offered in public schools, however the school scores seems to be on track with most area schools. The parent network has some very good dedicated people who care for what happens in the school. The activities such as music art and sports I think are not as good as they could be. Most disappointing are the gym activities. Children need this type of outlet and exercise. While acedemics is important, I believe exercise and a release of stress helps the kids excel in their studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

My 2 kids love it there,my son gets all the extra help he needs. They even did it on their own time. It has a great family feel. Family is very important. Could not want more from a school. Thank you St Veronica's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The teachers and staff are truly ther to assist you and the children. My daughter loves school. and my little one cries to stay at school. The students and faculty are always winning awards and honors fro all over. It makes me proud to say my daughter attends St. Veronicas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 9%
Hispanic 3% 22%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Black 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Trenton
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4219 U.S. 9
Howell, NJ 07731
Phone: (732) 364-4130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Goddard School
Howell, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT