Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
330 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Veronica School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 29, 2016
- a teacher
Teachers have left over the last few years and have expressed sadness as they have watched a school that was once thriving start to fail. Most of the teachers that are left do not have teaching degrees, a few should have retired due to a large lack of patience with students and not providing up to date academic material to help students prosper in high school.

St Veronica School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 29, 2016
- a teacher
Definitely not enough challenging homework for students. Student who have graduated in the last 3 years have expressed and complained how they were not prepared academically for high school due to lack of academic structure and up to date material.


St Veronica School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a teacher
no, because they are in constant fear of closing they are hanging on by a thread and this trickles down to the entire community at the school.

St Veronica School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a teacher
No, because there is a very low moral amongst the entire adult community. There are teachers talking to parents about other children and parents in front of students, the principal also engages in what appears to be very gossip like behavior amongst staff and parents. Teachers have been leaving over the years due to lack of professionalism and the school not upholding it's core values which include respect.

St Veronica School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a teacher
We feel that it is not a professional environment and certain parents are allowed to run things that should be run by faculty and staff. Once again, we feel that this is allowed to happen because the school is in financial trouble. Also, there is a lack of compassion from some teachers to students, there have been a lot of yelling incidents which may be a result of overworked and under-educated teachers on staff.


St Veronica School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a teacher
No, because the school is suffering financially they will accept any student even if the student does not meet the academic or behavior requirements they also count on a lot of parent volunteers and those parents and students are treated differently by the faculty and staff.

St Veronica School 2

Posted March 29, 2016
- a teacher
We believe that this school was thriving years ago but in the last few years has suffered due to financial difficulty. They have cut teachers and assistants. They have no technology program- the computers were stolen last summer and in order to be replaced they had to make more cuts. We believe the computers were stolen due to a lack of a secure and safe structure/building. The physical structure of the school is falling apart- there are many power outages and many plumbing issues that can't be fixed. Academically, they have one large class per grade without assistants. The teachers who have stayed (who should have probably retired already) are overwhelmed as they are teaching 24+ kids with some who have IEP's and need special attention (and who need real professional help) making it a very unfair environment for everyone to learn. There is also a lot of frustration by the teachers which trickles on to the young students by yelling etc.. They have parents with no teaching experience constantly acting as subs in the classroom. The financial difficulty also affects the lunchroom and quality of the food and the people who are handling the food. They have parent volunteers handling food with no professional experience or training to handle food and, a lot of the food is expired, we have even seen the main lunchroom person drop food on the floor and continue to use it and serve to children. There have been a ton of complaints to the Diocese of Trenton about this school and they are discussing closing it and selling the property but we feel that in the meantime they are continuing to rob parents of a tuition fee that does not meet the standards of a private school. There have been several bright students who have left the school this school year. They are a desperate failing school and should be honest with all parents. As parents & teachers, we all feel guilty about what's happening.

St Veronica School 2

Posted February 12, 2016
- a parent
I chose to send my children to ST. Veronica school, even though I knew the school was 'failing' because I believed they would learn strong values etc.. and I hoped that somehow the school would start to thrive again. Unfortunately, I think, I came at a time when the school was no longer fully functional. They had cut down on teachers, one large class only per grade, so you have a crowded classroom with only one teacher who may be certified, no academic resources for the teachers or students and the physical structure of the school is very outdated and run down. A lot of repairs both physical and academic that could not be made because of lack of funding due to a large decrease in enrollment. They are on a 'watch list' by the diocese. But, we also found out that it's not just demographics that have caused low enrollment. They have a serious internal bullying problem among students, faculty and parents. They have too many 'volunteers' who are parents running the school and it overtakes the professionalism that is needed and actually makes the school unsafe and ineffective. I would not send your children into a 'sinking ship' for their education. It's unfair that they are charging a large tuition with all that's lacking- this school is robbing parents.


St Veronica School 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
I have both my children attending St. Veronica School. Both of them have been there since Kindergarten. My oldest is now in 8th grade. Both of them have excelled academically and athletically. On the Terra Nova standardized tests my oldest consistently scored on average greater than 95% of all students who took the test year after year. She's been accepted into the John Hopkins Center for Talented Youth program. This is not only because of her; this is from what she's learned at this school. The teachers and administration at St. Veronica's has provided so much support to both my children and has helped us instill an excellent sense of morals, respect and strong religious belief in addition to high academic standards. I highly recommend this school. I'm sorry to see some negative comments about the school. You get what you put into it. We spend time to ensure our children study and communicate with their teachers and we couldn't be any happier with the school and how much they've helped our children.

St Veronica School 5

Posted January 21, 2012
- a parent
We have two children attending SVS currently and plan to send our third there as well. Both started with pre-school and were well prepared for Kindergarten. The curriculum is definitely competitive with public schools, as we have compared notes. We are very pleased with the sense of community that the school provides. We are a part of a big family and there is a sense of respect for all and a great sense of morals in the children. We have nothing but great things to say about the school and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to send their children to a school that has a great curriculum while reinforcing great morals and respect for others.

Nearby schools

St Veronica School
4219 U.S. 9, Howell, NJ  07731
(732) 364-4130
Last modified St Veronica School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top