Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Monmouth Academy

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Howell

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $271,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2008

I attended Lakewood Prep(now Monmouth Academy) the very 1st year and didnt realize how excellent it was until I graduted 6 years later.I was accepted to a great college because my SAT scores were excellent due to the great teachers! It was an unbelievable experience and one I would recommend to everyone.My biggest class was 9 students and I learned more there than I would have anywhere else.It was the best decision my parents ever made and I thank them for it.Sending your child there would be one of the best decision you could ever make and that's why I have sent my kids there as well,creating a legacy that is built on a strong educational foundation
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2006

Extracurricular activities at Lakewood Prep don't have as much as a Public School's. Parents have a huge ability to be involved in things like coaching a sport or starting a new club. The academic program is alright, but the faculty tells you that you are far more advanced than all public schools, but in auctuallity you are in some aspects, but not in all. Lakewood Prep or Monmouth Academy as it is called now, does give a good foundation though in organization and in study habits. The only problem at this school would be the amount of negative critism from other students and what these students say to eachother..
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 15, 2006

My daughter went to LP for K-12th grade. Every year I was so impressed by the quality of the teachers, program, school and each year was better than the one before. Small class size and caring teachers create a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Academic Programs- wonderful teachers, small classes(none more than 15 students), tiny honors sections,personal attention, tradional curriculum with some interesting choices. It simply couldn't be better. We love Lakewood Prep because it offers true academic rigor without the undue pressure which we have found in other schools. Sky's the limit for the academic superstars (they'll place students where they need to be, not by chronological age and offer independent study,) but all students learn more than they ever would have though possible while finding a niche that fits them and never makes them feel anything other than than stars that they are--in their own way. Strong art, music,theater, photography, but the sports offerings are rather limited due to the small size of the school. Parents are extremely involved, but not obnoxiously so--just supportive in a good way. This is the third private school our children have attended and it ranks far above the others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

Lakewood Prep is a phenomenal educational environment. My son has attended for 3 years. The individual focus on each child's needs and develop is fantastic. The teachers allow the children to grow and progress at their speed with gentle pressure to achieve and progress. Elementary school students receive the basics plus 2 languages, arts, music, and physical education. A wonderful learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2005

My son entered the school in 6th grade; he's now in 11th. The curriculum is packed with content compared to public schools: unabridged classic literature, rich in history, solid math. The school may seem informal, but there are consequences for bad behavior. It is a nurturing environment because the teachers know the students, are available to meet with you if a child has a problem; they email, call if necessary beyond scheduled progress reports and report cards. As important, they are routinely available to the students via extra help or email if they have questions on homework. The small size allows flexibility for a more personal experience. People speak politely to one another. Parents are welcome. This school is for those who want to ensure their child(ren) receive basic liberal arts curriculum/education to be well-rounded and prepared for postsecondary pursuits. Some teacher turnover has been good; weak ones are not renewed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

'What the best parent wants for his child, is what Lakewood Prep wants for every child.' I have sent all three of my sons to Prep and I am amazed at the educational excellence provided by the school. The teachers are exceptional, movtivated, compassionate, knowledgable and most important caring. My oldest graduated several years ago and received a full academic scholarship to a very tough college. He told me that it was the best thing we ever did for him. My middle son was also offered a full scholarship and my youngest has thrived in this enviornment. The Principal is the most caring and available person you could ever ask for. She is a role model for all of the students. Attending Lakewood Prep is like sending your kids to a great big extended family with all the love and caring it can offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

We really love the school. These people truely care about the children and want to see them be successful and happy students. We have a child that had been in the same school for his entire life and really resisted moving because he had strong ties to his old school. It's a little frightening coming into a new school and I have to say the transition has been wonderful. Bottom line my son loves it and that's what really matters. We have a happy child that has a love of learning and feels right at home at Lakewood Prep. I think that is a testiment to the faculty and student body. We feel fortunate to have found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

What a disappointment. Maybe good for High School level. Principal is part time 2 to 3 days a week this last year did not see her in the primary school once. Teachers at primary level seem enthuastic about the learning process, they are challenged by lack of leadership and disciplinary issues. There are no extracurricular activities eg. sports. They do have arts and crafts (fee), puzzles and games, poetry, science, sewing once monthly. Serious safety issues doors are not locked anyone can walk into primary building. Discipline is not addressed running in the halls, cursing, fighting, pushing. Last year new art teachers (principle, daughter and friends), gym teacher, spanish teacher. Music program has been completely change to no Music program. Building very dirty children told not to drink water it is brown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I find Lakewood Prep in Howell, NJ to be a great school, parents get involved, teachers seem to be totally attentive to their students. I feel it's very family like, I'm so happy that we as parents can send our children to a school such as Lakewood Prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 52%
Black 10% 19%
Two or more races 10% 1%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Asian 3% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

152 Lanes Mill Rd
Howell, NJ 07731
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 364-2812

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Goddard School
Howell, NJ



Talmud Torah Ohr Elchonon
Lakewood Township, NJ



Bnos Bina Girls School
Lakewood Township, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT