Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Berkeley Terrace

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 36 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2013

the school is very disorganize. the academic level is extremely low and they teachers have no clue about differentiation of academic instructions. Whenever I call no one ever answers my questions. I discourage any parent from registering their child in this school. My son is regressing,and it's a shame there is no other public school for my son to attend in them area. I look forward to moving him to a private school. I am completely disgusted with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

My 6 year old daughter has been attending this school since Sept 2011. Overall for me, it's okay. It can be better & has potential for improvement. I believe that the out of control kids should be disciplined a liitle stronger & the parents more involved. Every time I go to pick up my child, there are kids running all over, yelling, screaming, playing, throwing rocks, pushing. I just don't get it. More staff needs to be outside with these kids or someone will eventually get hurt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

My daughter is a second grader at Berkeley. Since attending the school, she has been on the honor roll and super honor roll. She's been there since Kindergarden and I think that Ms. Wells is doing a fabulous job there academically. I would imagine that as with any school, your child's personal performance would depend on your child. Some of the children there are really out of control, but its hard for the staff to control a child whose parent(s) may not be as involved as they should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Berkeley Terrace used to be a great school but as of last year it is going downhill as the staff has no controll over the students. This year its no better in fact it has gotten to the point that I am looking to relocate to remove my children from this mess. I am no longer a proud Berkeley Parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

awesome school all three of my kids go their recently my oldest child graguated with straight A's no lie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

Berkeley Terrace is a nice school, but the parents don't care. This school is filled with bullies. My son has been going to Berkeley Terrace for only two months and he has been jumped once (by three boys) and beaten -up twice (by two different boys that are friends with the boys that jumped him). The PTA needs to have more meetings. The teachers are too young to teach. I went to the school one day and I saw a teacher talking on her cellular phone during class. I can t wait until this school year is over, so I can take my son out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

I am an ex-student who beleives in Irvington school systems and students. Berkeley Terrace is the greateset and best elementary school in the Newark,Irvington, and Orange areas. The students care beacause the teachers care and support. The teachers care and support beacause they actually realize that they obtain a room full of the future.And the children know and accept the fact that they are the future. Berkley sets a positive atmosphere with a twist of love and fun. With a crazy amount of love to Irvington and Berkley Terrace school, Joel Ortiz
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students38%
Female41%
Male34%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged26%
Special educationn/a
General education46%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant38%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students65%
Female68%
Male63%
Black63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Special educationn/a
General education82%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant65%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students21%
Female24%
Male19%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Special educationn/a
General education30%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant21%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students28%
Female32%
Male25%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education38%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant28%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students65%
Female56%
Male71%
Black65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special education18%
General education74%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant65%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former82%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students23%
Female24%
Male22%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Special educationn/a
General education31%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant23%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students44%
Female38%
Male48%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Special educationn/a
General education57%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant44%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 86% 16%
Hispanic 12% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Wilma Crespo

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

787 Grove Street
Irvington, NJ 07111
Phone: (973) 399-6850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT