Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Union Avenue Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 40 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

My school was the best i had fun and I am really going to miss it and the teachers, my teachers were funny and cool. If I had a problem iI could count on them. I love my school.


Posted May 31, 2012

I think the teachers are very rude and should not be dealing with our children at all if there was a scoul in livingston or millburn this people would not be allow to teach there kids becuasle the rud and disrespectful actions would not go unattended to I feel that our kids are just as important as the kids in the other areas and that we as parents should not allow these people who have no education them self at least not from an american college and they are allow into hour area schools and do not no how to treat our children we need to do something about our testing of these individual and make out standers something we can be proud of that way we insure that our children get the best out of our teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

I am currently in the 7th grade at Union Ave and I speak for most of my fellow students that this is a wonderful school. I have made friends with people I never thought I would meet. People who are so kind and you know you can trust them and, as we all know, that is hard to find nowadays. I am moving away after this semester and I can only wish that I could grow a connection with my fellow classmates and teachers at my new school like I have at Union Ave.


Posted January 11, 2011

This school is really great. The teachers and administrators really care about the students. Students can get extra help before and after school.


Posted May 13, 2009

I had recently graduated from this school (2008) as the Salutatorian. This school is very well staffed and does the best to ensure a good school year packed with fun activites that our parents may attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2008

This school rocks but the teachers push us to our best ability
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2007

I am a proud parent of a student who recently graduated. I found that the Principal, Vice Principal, Staff, Teachers were very supportive as well as eager to assist me and my son in his education. His grades left us as parents breathless... Honor roll of course. The security team was excellent and cares about the saftey of your children. Wish he could have stayed another year..but he graduated. I give the school and it's management a high rating 100..Good work Union Avenue!!!!!!!!!!! Check it out for yourself....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

Union Ave Middle School have great teachers. However, the problem is maintaining the administration. The school had to endure three different Principals in two years. The currect principal is during a good job of imposing dicipline and creating a learning enironment. My child is doing well because I am involved in the PTA and make it a point to communicate with the teachers and support staff. The teachers in the school are really dedicated and the principal has good ideas for improvement of the education administered to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

This is not a bad achool. Teachers are good. They are trying very hard to give a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

i recently graded from Union Avenue (class of 2oo5) and i must say that this is a great school. many, maybe all, the teachers are dedicated to their work. the principal is the best irvington has ever had. and the music program (music magnet) is absolutely amazing! although there are those who dont want to learn, the teachers make them. thats why Union Avenue is the home of the eagles! mighty birds who often fly solo and are very sucessful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 18, 2004

I was a former student to Union Avenue Middle and I can truly say that it is the best middle school that I have ever attended. The teachers were excellent, Principal and Vice Principals were understanding and also helpful on advice because it was like they knew what we were thinking. So for the kids who attend that school this year and the future I know that they will love it and be determined and prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2004

As a ex- student of Union Ave I have to say that it a great school. It has such a great learning enivorment. The teachers only strive for the best in their student, but still it's always up to the sudents. They have excellent after school programs too. As a pupil attending Union Ave I always wanted to get out of the school but now that I'm out I wish and pray I could go back. For the 2 years I attended Union I always had honor roll by the help of the teachers. I think Union should go up to the 12 grade. ~tanisha barry~
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2004

Union Ave is one of the best schools I've ever attended. There's discipline from the Principals and Teachers. The school is also safe to the point where you won't have to worry if your child is okay or not. They have more than enough extracurricular activities that'll keep your child busy and off the streets. Most of the children that went to Union came out a better and wiser person . If they only had it up to 12th grade most of the kids that end up going to different high schools and failing would probably still be on top. That's how dedicated the school is to teaching their children. One of they're famous sayings is 'Time is Passing, Are you?'
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 8, 2003

My son is new to the school so overall so good so far. I agree with the other parent about the PTA meetings. I'm a working parent as well and I don't get home until after 6. Also the after school programs have yet to start in the school. That is one of the main reason I chose this school. It's already December and it still has not started.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

Overall Union Ave is a pretty good school. I think the staff needs to work on informing the parents about things of interest that goes on at the PTA meetings. Many parents cannot attend because of their work schedule. I t doesn't have to be word for word just a slight overview.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students36%
Female37%
Male35%
Black37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged44%
Special educationn/a
General education44%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students53%
Female54%
Male51%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicity27%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged51%
Special educationn/a
General education66%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students30%
Female39%
Male22%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged32%
Special educationn/a
General education38%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students31%
Female40%
Male22%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged32%
Special educationn/a
General education38%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students62%
Female71%
Male52%
Black61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Special educationn/a
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students47%
Female55%
Male38%
Black49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged38%
Special educationn/a
General education56%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant47%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students61%
Female62%
Male62%
Black62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Special education15%
General education75%
English language learners26%
Non-migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former26%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 91% 16%
Hispanic 8% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Cheryl Chester

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

427 Union Ave
Irvington, NJ 07111
Phone: (973) 399-6885

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Good Shepherd Academy
Irvington, NJ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT