Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Aloysius School

Private | PK-8 | 391 students

Teaching values and living our faith.

 

Living in Jackson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $295,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,530.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

This was our first year at St Aloysius and it's been such a positive experience . All the staff are helpful kind people . It is a wonderful school. The children are so nice to each other. My son loves going to school everyday and comes out of school with a big smile. Such kind and caring staff. The school is extremely safe . If you are looking for an excellent school I highly recommend St Aloysius.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

All three of my children have attended St. Aloysius School in Jackson. Our experience there as a family has been one of being welcomed into the school community. My children have had a great academic and spiritual learning experience there. I would highly recommend this school to new families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

My children have attended this school since kindergarten ( my oldest is in 5th). We have continuously been happy with their education, both academically and spiritually. The staff is loving and committed to the children they teach and care for. It is a big school, with a small feeling. I highly recommend meeting our principal and seeing for yourself! worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

Strong sense of community, caring faculty and staff, very responsive to any concern or issue. Strong emphasis on character, moral development and service to others. Students care about each other. Academically very good. My son is in his second year here and has thrived. I was a public school teacher and I can say without reservation St. Al's is an excellent choice if you want good academics, strong community and character building. You do not see any of the disruptive behavior, bullying etc that goes on in public schools here. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

If you are looking for an excellent elementary school in Jackson, send your children to St. Al's. Both of mine go here and the expense is a sacrifice but it is worth it. They are taught self-discipline, respect, strong educational skills, reading and math skills are started in PreK/K, they are taught to respect each other and there is a strong sense of service cultivated in the children. My kids love the structure and the caring dedicated teachers. Can't say enough good things..... This is how school should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

my grandsons are receiving a superb education.


Posted September 14, 2010

Great school!! Excellent in all aspects. I highly recommend this school for any parents considering a elementary school in Jackson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

This school is FANTASTIC!!! Security is high tech like Fort Knox unlike the public schools in Jackson. Teachers are great and everyone is friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

St. Aloysius School provides an education that is absolutely tailored to each child. The teachers there are extremely competent and creative and model differentiated learning on a daily basis. Upon entering high school, my child was very well prepared and had no problems. The Middle School teachers provide very challenging lessons and the work is not easy. However, the benefits are wonderful. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

I have been at this school for 10 years and have been extremely satisfied. It has prepared my eldest child for one of the best high schools in the state. My other two children are still in the school and will be there till they go on to high school. I have never had any problems with any of the teachers or staff. Every year they build on their already strong academic curriculum as well as sports and clubs. I am a practicing Catholic and appreciate the freedom of religious expression that you have with a Catholic school. I would not want my children in an environment where God and Christmas was considered an embarassment. Also, I appreciate the dress code and emphasis manners and respect. St. Aloysius is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Run from this school. The entire school is filled with angry teachers, and a rotten front office. All that matters is the tution. They should all be ashame of themselves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

I have one child at this school, her brother graduated three years ago. The school is Very well run and the teachers are all good teachers. Extra-curricular, athletic, and social events are always well organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

My child attended St. Al's for 3 years. There are some good things about this school. It's a small community, parents are involved and helpful. Some teachers are excellent. There are teachers and staff that do not model Christian behaivior ane that behavior is not addressed. If a parent brings an issue to the administration that parent becomes the problem, the child is handled punitively and the issue ignored. The Principal although she has excellent skills chooses not to get involved in any problem solving unless pressed. Too many teachers are not interested in or capable of diversified teaching so any child not middle of the road is left behind. There are no gifted programs to speak of and if your child needs help in any area that becomes another problem. Computers are not emphasized & that puts these children at a distinct disadvantage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

St. Aloysius provides an enviroment that nutures their students. St. Aloysius teaches their students how to be good citizens and believe in themselves. At the same time the children learn in an academically challanging atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Wonderful school. The teachers a caring and the administration is very thoughtful. It is a challenging environment. Miss Bryant is a wonderful teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

I have 2 children at St. Als., and I have to say that I am very happy with the quality of education they are receiving. I do feel though that there should be more opportunities for students who would like to take advanced courses such as in math or sciences. At times, my son completes his math homework in less than 15 minute (he's in 5th grade) and he complains that it's too easy. He also mentions that some of his friends have also felt the same. I am aware that catholic schools do not have the same resources as public schools, but students who excel in certain subject s/b given the opportunity to do more challenging problems...In conclusion, St. Als has given my children an environment where they have grown both spiritually and academically. It is a great school where my kids wake up and look forward to attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

St. Aloysius is a wonderful school that has provided our children with a first rate education and, equally important allowed them to grow in thier Catholic faith. The administration from Principle O'Conner to Fr. Scott care deeply about the childern and have made it a superb learning environment. You truely feel part of a community and a family at St. Al's. We really love this school. Mrs Arfuso is a teriffic teacher and has been patient when required yet challenges them as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

My daughter has been at st al's.for 10 years now...thruout her time here the school has been more than a parent could expect...she has had challenging work...accelerated classes...sports,projects,everything a well balanced child could need...the teachers are wonderful,caring human beings that want to see the children they have an opportunity to help to raise see a bigger and brighter future...anything it takes,they seem to offer...they go the extra mile.If parents are looking for an alternative to public school in this area..turn to St.Al's,you will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:20 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Elizabeth OConnor
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • Www.staloysiusschool.com
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (732) 370-3555

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Residents of Jackson
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Middlesex
  • Georgian Court University
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Social Justice Group
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
75
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
79

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Diocesan aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Christian Brothers Academy
Monsignor Donovan High School
St. Rose High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

935 Bennetts Mills Rd
Jackson, NJ 08527
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 370-1515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ocean Day School
Lakewood, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT