Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crawford Rodriguez Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 70 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2014

I love the school. Mrs. Jean-Denis is a great Principal, always will to help. The are quick at addressing parents concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

From the Principal Rob Rotante all the way down to the janitors everyone is 1st class the teachers go above and beyond the call of duty and I have had nothing but an awesome experience at this school for the last 6 yrs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Wonderfull school and helpfull staff. Great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Excellent! Great teachers.principal! staff! very very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Beautiful school.caring staff, Excellent Teachers,very sensitive to the well being and needs of children. A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

My son goes to this school. He first started in the special Education program at the age of three and has now been mainstreamed. . To say that staff and administration in this school is excellent is and understatement and my child has had to deal with more than the usual..OT, case managers, social workers, etc. They have watched over my son with better eyes and safety that I probably could. They have helped him grow in many ways and he has blossomed and is doing phenomenal. Teachers and administration handle problems immediately and in a very smooth manner, always keeping the parents involved. The child is never made to feel as if he/she is inferior. absolutely love this school and can't say enough about it. I can't rate the after school activities because my child just started 1st grade. Awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I have two children at Crawford and we have had the best experiences here. The teachers are, for the most part, top rate. We have always been able to visit with them and speak with them whenever we requested it. Our principal is the greatest, he is so welcoming and always encourages parent participation. My eldest daughter is in 5th grade, and we are very , very, sad that she has to leave her 'school family'. My only negative issue with the school is that we wish there were more programs in place for above average children. Our teachers have always tried to challenge my children, but are limited in what they were able to do on their own. Overall Crawford is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

Our daughter was in Kindergarten for 2006-07 in Ms. Blocks pm class and I cannot say enough good things. My daughter is able to read on her level and she is doing math problems. She learned so much and had a great learning experience. We were nervous about her going on the bus and we have nothing but great things to say about them too. They really seem to look over the little ones. We did have one bully incident on the bus and the principal addressed it asap. I will also let you know two other little girls on our bus stop were in the other two kindergarten class's and nobody had anything but great things to say about their learning experience too. Good Luck to all the new kindergartens and you're in for a great treat parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

This is an excellent school, with very caring teachers and excellent administrators. Any problems were addressed quickly and efficiently. Both of my daughters were well prepared for middle school. With beautiful, spacious classrooms, an expansive library & a first-rate computer lab, you couldn't ask for a finer school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I have two children in this school. They never missed a day and love to attend. Their teachers are fun and energetic and the rooms are set up for ease of learning and being user friendly. It's easy to see that all the staff is were they want to be, helping to raise independent and responsible young people. -LP
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

This is a great school! The children here are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

This is a great school - right down to the colors on the walls! Unfortunately, due to redistricting, my son had the pleasure of only serving 2 years in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students71%
Female75%
Male68%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female83%
Male90%
Black73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Special education71%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students67%
Female76%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Special education44%
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students89%
Female88%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special education78%
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant89%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Special education94%
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students60%
Female74%
Male49%
Black41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
White62%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Special educationn/a
General education65%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant60%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male91%
Black77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 51%
Hispanic 9% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 9%
Black 6% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Adriann Jean-denis

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1025 Larsen Road
Jackson, NJ 08527
Phone: (732) 833-4690

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT