Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jackson Memorial High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1762 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2014

Both of my sons graduated from JMHS -- one in 2003 and the other 2007. I can say with certainty and from personal experience having interacted with their teachers and school staff that they truly care about the kids and their top priority is making sure they get a quality education and have a great experience in school that will prepare them for life. My sons are now both in grad school earning their PhD's in physics and math respectively and I have no doubt that the education they obtained at Jackson Memorial is in large part why they are such successful scholars and will go on to successful careers. Send your kids to this school if you can!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

Well, as much as I hate to admit it (since I graduated from here in 1980 and never thought I would have my children go to this school), I am very pleased with JMHS. The teachers are engaged and there is little that is not offered to the students if they so choose. My daughter hates school, but she hates all school and the fact is she comes home smiling in spite of "hating it." The music department is exceptional, the art department is absolutely first class and neither would be if the teachers were not exceptional. I don't care about sports as much as the arts and JMHS certainly offers exceptional arts to those who are interested. Mainstream and Special Ed both have some fabulous teachers and the support is always there, without exception, for me. Ms. Jardot is the best-best-best math teacher! We have moved around extensively and have been in more schools than I can count or prefer to admit. JMHS has its problems but nothing out of the ordinary. Besides, just this year alone there are two students with PERFECT SAT scores- so truly, this has to be an excellent school, because that type of record does not "just happen."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

The majority of the teachers my sons had for their 4 years in school really cared about the kids and motivated them to learn. I also think the arts programs are great. I had one son in drama and one in marching band and both programs were outstanding, with exceptional parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2009

I'm a Junior at Memorial now and it's a great school. The teachers as well as the principal and all the vice principals are great! The principal is always at school events and is a constant presence in the hallways during the the day. It seems he makes a point to be a part of all the students educations. The vice principals are the same. The teachers are always willing to help students and stay after. The sports programs are great as well as the extra-curricular activites. Since the other High School opened about four years ago the population of the school has gone down considerably, which makes going to classes so much easier!! JMHS is a wonderful school and I'm proud to be a player on two of the school's teams as well as a student!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2008

Jackson Memorial H.S. is one of the best schools in Ocean County. The principal has a presence in the school throughout the day as he makes a point to be seen by the students when the classes are changing, at extracurricular activities such as football games, volleyball games, the play - everything. The kids love him and he loves them. The teachers are great also. They are around for extra help should the kids need it, they're involved in clubs, sports, etc. as well as the charity events that are constantly occurring at the school at any given time. The athletic department is top-notch and the kids are awesome! The kids are conscientious about their studies and are involved in all aspects of school life. It's a wonderful school and I'll be sad when my daughter graduates in 2010.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

School is not crowded anymore because of the new school on the other side of town. Athletics is great, academics are above average, and the safety is not an issue anymore due to new security systems, and higher expectattions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2007

The school offers some great courses, but it is definitely overcrowded. Most of the teachers are excellent. There have been problems regarding saftey because of ongoing construction recently.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2006

This school is average with overall scores but i can honestly reccommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2006

Hello, i'm a junior here at jackson memorial HS, ive been in this school for 3 years, and over the years there has been an over population, but it isn't that bad, its not as bad as people say it is! Its a good school, i definately reccomend this school for anyone moving here, and this over population will end in sept. 2006 when the new high school is open(Jackson Liberty HS).
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2006

Jackson Memorial High School is part of a very good school district. It is very overcrowded, but a new high school opening in Sept. 06 will alleviate that problem. They offer an honors program as well as many extracuricular and sports activities. School spirit is high. I am of the strong belief that if you take an active role in your child's education they'll will do well anywhere as long as there is opportunity and JMHS offers a quality education for those children who seek it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

The school is over-crowded. New school Jackson Liberty will be ready in 2006
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

I am a proud graduate of the class of 2000. I have to say that this school is absolutely the best school in the surrounding towns. There are the usual 'bad seeds,' but the school handles these issues very appropriately. The amount of students that bring drugs into this school compared to others is practically non-exsistent compared to Howell Township. An Jackson High treats these issues as NO TOLERANCE! The teachers were great and very willing to spend extra time with anyone who needed it. The dress code was a little too strict. The adventure bound class was great and unlike all other schools around as well as the graphics class. Overall, there are extracuriccular activities that everyone will love. The guidance counselors and the college fairs were also greatly informative and helpful to the undecided student! Great School! Great Town! Great People!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2005

the school is cheap and junky.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

I only wish there was as much emphasis on the 3 R's as there used to be. The sports programs have some very good, responsible coaching - which helps the overall discipline for those involved. The overcrowding is being remediated with a new high school in 2-3 years. The problem is NJ's school funding system and poor performance in teaching the basics for most kids, while getting great ratings for those in the upper 20% because they go to good colleges. It's a NJ problem, not a Jackson problem. And so is the overcrowding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

The main word for Jackson is crowded! There are lots of students in that school. They are on block schedules to lower the amount of people in the halls between classes some kids need approx. 6 mins. to get thru the halls! Teachers so far have been great and very involved in the students a plus due to the block schedule the teachers have time to really get to know the students and I do love that. I like the block schedule much better then the traditional 8 classes a day. I dont like how crowded the school is. It is under control just very crowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Black93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education68%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant93%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education33%
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant84%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students65%
Female68%
Male61%
Black50%
Asian86%
Hispanic39%
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education27%
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant65%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

75%

SAT college ready

45%

Graduation rate

95%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 51%
Black 7% 16%
Hispanic 4% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Don Connor Blvd
Jackson, NJ 08527
Phone: (732) 833-4670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Yeshiva Bais Aharon
Lakewood, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT