Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Peters Preparatory School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
SPP is the best bang for your buck school in the state. It prepared my son like no other allowing him to flourish and be challenged. He now attends Harvard. The preparation for the SAT at SPP is astonishing and cannot be compared too. I sent my other son to Seton Hall for a year and we transfered him to SPP after one year because it was too easy. Truly a magnificent school. SPP is the REAL Prep.

St Peters Preparatory School 5

Posted May 10, 2014
- a community member
Prep is such a great school that provides many great opportunities. It's the best school in the area.


St Peters Preparatory School 2

Posted February 15, 2014
- a parent
our child attended for a few years. And unlike the 19 (only) glowing reviews here, we didn't find the school to be that exceptional. The school is quite average in academics and the hockey program was not impressive. Some great teachers, some not so great. After speaking with many parents whose kids did not flourish at the school (or after graduating) we took our son out and found a better school. Considering that St. Peter's is one of the only good schools in Jersey City, I think it looks better than it really is. When compared to the top notch programs in the country, it does not compete strongly.

St Peters Preparatory School 1

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
My son had to get transferred from this school because he felt that he was left out because he was black. all the kids tried to leave him out of t hings in any way possible ; like not talking to him at lunch etc the only ethnic people in the school that dont have any problems are the people on the football team.
1 person found this helpful

St Peters Preparatory School 5

Posted February 17, 2013
- a parent
Where else can you go to high school and see the Statue of Liberty down one street and the Liberty Tower rising in NYC down the next?. Amazing place where boys become men. Their athletics are noted, but their performing arts improves with every year! Vox chorus won at 2012 World Choir Games and Jazz & Concert band flourish.. Their dramatics dept. just keeps attracting more and more hidden Prep talent! All students, athlete and scholar and artist, alike, respect eachother for their talents... no judging... and the diversity CANNOT BE MATCHED by any other boys private in the state! If your son wants diversity, it is here with a quality education and environment. Campus Ministry is unsurpassed and led by the most capable of women in Ms Maura Toomb. If you want to leave at 3:00, don't come to Prep. If you want to get involved and be open to growth on so many levels, the door is open. As for finances... don't think of it as a sacrafice, parents... think of it as an investment in your son's life and future. The Jesuits know what they are doing and do it well. AMDG.


St Peters Preparatory School 3

Posted February 16, 2013
- a parent
this school is a very great school but if you are African American the other kids will not include/ and ostracize you from all social activities i recommend you to go to a different private school if you come from any ethnic back ground

St Peters Preparatory School 5

Posted November 03, 2011
- a student
I am Currently a student at st peters and it is really good!!! most private schools are not worth paying for, but this is worth your money truly, PREP FOR LIFE>

St Peters Preparatory School 4

Posted August 24, 2011
- a student
There are too much academic reviews here. I am a current student and I just want to add the other stuff St. Petes has. If you love the athletics, this is the school to go. The football team is one of the best in the country and always sends a couple of kids to D-1 schools. Its basketball, wrestling, baseball, hockey, swimming, and track is always competitive in the state. I really want to say 5 stars, but the teachers in the school are either amazing, or just really bad. But the school is awesome and I love it!!


St Peters Preparatory School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a student
I am a current student and couldn't be happier. When they say not prep for four years, prep for life, they mean it

St Peters Preparatory School 5

Posted October 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Peters Preparatory School
144 Grand Street, Jersey City, NJ  07302
(201) 547-6400
Last modified St Peters Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
St Peters Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top