Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady of Czestochowa

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jersey City

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $480,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My kids have attended this school since pre k and now my older one is in grade 7. This school has very comfortable environment , my kids look forward to going to school everyday. It is like another home for them. Teachers pay attention to each student and contact you when they have a concern regarding child's progress and don't wait till the end of semester to discuss thei progress. The school has diverse population and over years , they have followed approach to celebrate festivals to match with diversity. Now, isn't that something. Somethings it could improve on is a playground for bigger kids and some clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

This is an amazing environment! The families and staff work together! They are very creative and use many different approaches to education! I could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

OLC is, hands down, the best school in this area. For what you pay, you get above average quality education. The principal and her team are very dedicated to the curriculum, which changes to fit the students' needs. Every child is challenged and the quality of teachers is second to none. OLC showed its fortitude during Hurricane Irene and Sandy, which left much damage in the school, especially the PreK 4 classroom. Thanks to the teachers, the students, who were displaced, still had an outstanding year in less than desirable conditions. The parents of OLC are knowledgeable and resourceful. You are not going to find a better group of intelligent yet down to earth parents. Overall, OLC is definitely more bang for your buck, as compared to some other overpriced private schools in the area. You need not be Catholic to attend OLC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

This school is the Gem in Jersey City. The curriculum is on par and some aspects are above par, such as math, English and project base learning program. My son really loves his teachers and the principal is caring and authentic. They offer a diverse after school activities which enriches the overall school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Overall happy with the teachers and principal. Both the principal and the teachers welcome suggestions from parents. From Kindergarten students actually start learning and teacher involvement is high in terms of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

We're super happy with Little Harbor and OLC. The teachers are great, the principal is warm and friendly, and all the parents are friendly with each other and have formed a sense of community. We would have liked to see a better response to Hurricane Sandy and in general feel like they could do better operationally, but overall we're super happy and glad we started here four years ago before the wait list scene started
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

This school is simply put fantastic. We have been with this school for the past 4 years and could not be happier. Our children are thriving. Some amazing and gifted teacher there. The principal is super involved and knows all kids names. Strong community feel and the parents are super involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

My children attend the pre-school program of Our Lady of Czestochowa (OLC) called Little Harbor Academy (LHA) and I can honestly say that I am very happy with this school. Not only is it affordable as compared to other schools around the area, LHA provides an outstanding curriculum that is montessori based but not as rigid. More importantly, my children always looks forward to going to school and comes home happy. The class size is small and the teacher is very attentive. It is the teachers that make a difference in this school and they are just wonderful. I find my children's teacher to be caring and my girls just love her. This is my children's first year in school and it has been a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

We have a son at a more advanced level for his grade and a daughter slightly below before going to OLC. We were quite impressed by the principal on how much she was involved in evaluating them along with other teachers and making arrangement for our kids' special needs. Over last couple years, we were happy with the curriculum and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Good School & teachers. Contraint is its facility. Playground etc. Due to this it probably lacks on the extra curricular front a good school should offer in higher grades. The current open space they have is also used for parking, so where would the kids play? I recommend them to look at the football field as options. Setup Table Tennis etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

My daughter is in PK-4 and has been thriving at OLC sicne Toddler 2s. So far, we've found the curriculum to be well-developed, the facilities clean and comforting, the faculty warm, competent and caring, and the principal is works tirelessly to keep up quality and parental involvement. Tuition is reasonable, relatively speaking. OLC's popularity seems to have grown in recent years (probably as a result of the current principal), it has encountered some minor growing pains, but the staff have put in great efforts to minimize these. On balance, I think enrollment growth will be a plus, as one of the critiques has been that the higher grade sizes were too small, thus making it a bit insular. Now it seems like there's great energy at this school. Bottom line, my daughter loves OLC - she asks to go back all summer long!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

Great School... Our boys love this school, the teachers are amazing, the principal is very hands on and always looking for ways to keep the school up to date. Brand new touch screen computers are perfect for the younger kids. Several after school activities. This is our thrid year with the school and we couldn't be any happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

There are smartboards in both of my daughters' classrooms as there are smartboards in all of the rooms in grades 1through 8. My girls have been in the school for the past five years, and I am very pleased. The new principal has a background in good NJ public schools, and she strives to keep OLC as up-to-date and competitive as a good NJ suburban public school. We just got the standardized test results, and our kids our off the charts. Also, my husband and I feel very happy to send our kids to a place where the kids and families are very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

great teachers, principal and a new curriculum with strong academic focus and programs. My wish list: Computers for every student Smartboards in classrooms expanded foreign language program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

Excellent School..New principal is awesome!!!. I recomment this school strongly. My daughter is attending this school from last 5 yrs and I am completely satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

The school is bit $$ but i think it's worth. this is the 2nd year for my daughter. she enjoys everyday; she tells me what they have done in school almost everyday. compare to a year ago there is huge difference; she just grown so much. there are some mixed reviews but as parents we have do our parts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

This is a wonderful little school that nurtures the children and offers an excellent academic program as well as interesting enrichment programs. My grandaughter attends pre- k and amazes us with the knowledge learned and the enthusiasm she has for attending class each day. I recommend this school highly.


Posted January 3, 2009

My daughter goes to the 2 year old Montessori program. The teachers for this class are Miss Jolly, Miss Cathy and Miss Amy. I am giving it 4 stars only because my daughter is too young to give any feedback so this is simply my opinion. I have been VERY happy with the class. Art and music are taught regularly and I've seen my child learn in both these areas. Communications from the school is very good through very frequent letters that are sent back and one on one time as needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

My child stayed in OLC from K to 5. I should have pulled him out earlier since I feel that he lost very valuable time for 6 years in this school. For me it just a total waste of money sending a child to this school. Kids do not do anything even in higher grades. Teachers even give answers to tests before the actual test. So what's the use of testing the kids? I agree with everyone who says that this school is just for show. The principal is the most unapproachable principal of them all. She only cares about those who have money. If you 'look' not rich, she will not even say HI or smile at you. I am glad I pulled my son out of this school. Think about where you spend your money in this type of economy. OLC is not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

Our greatest mistake was to put our son in this scool and leave him in it for a few years thinking maybe it was the teacher , maybe its him, the school is useless for the children and for the parents, I have nothing good to say except MRs Hannah was a great teacher assisstant
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 38% 8%
Hispanic 33% 20%
White 18% 52%
Black 11% 19%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • AMS
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

248 Luis Marin Blvd
Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone: (201) 434-2405

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hudson Montessori
Jersey City, NJ



Waterfront Montessori
Jersey City, NJ




Number 4 Middle School
Jersey City, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT